Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2021, 09:36 PM   #1
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
GT5 31L5 Onan5500 power lost

While stopped for lunch traveling west of Mesa Verde I lost power to protected outlet plugs and Zantrex. The generator was running with both a/c units. Plugged in 1500 watt air fryer (same plug as used on shore power).

So plugged into outlets on driver side and those plugs went out but a/c units were still working for about 30 minutes.

It was over 100 degrees and I decided to go on to Meadview RV park.

When plugged into shore power everything worked correctly except Zantrex. It only displayed 0.000. There were no breakers tripped, no fuses blown except I have not checked the battery box area. It has been 111 degrees but would like to see if something was wrong or fuse is out.

Batteries are charging if on shore power or if engine is running.

Do you have any suggestions on where to look or what to check?
__________________
Ben Moore
Temple,TX
2019 GT5 31L5F, 2014 Wrangler Unlimited
CHF rear, CHF front, Sumo springs front
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 12:04 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dandridge,TN
Posts: 580
did you reset circuit breakers on generator itself ? /
cfo111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 12:42 AM   #3
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
Oman power

The generator breakers were not tripped.

I did reset both of them is case they were partially tripped


Btm
__________________
Ben Moore
Temple,TX
2019 GT5 31L5F, 2014 Wrangler Unlimited
CHF rear, CHF front, Sumo springs front
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 08:00 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: payson, az
Posts: 3,165
this is just a guess as it is hard to understand exactly what happened. but if you have both a/c's running when on generator power the issue is not the generator. i'm assuming each a/c is on a separate leg from the generator and since both a/c's are running the generator is providing power to each leg.

when you say protected outlet plugs do you mean gfci protected outlets. if they are out try resetting the gfci outlet. there are normally several additional outlets downstream from the gfci outlet.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 02:38 PM   #5
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 2,712
If the Xantrex voltmeter is showing 0.0 volts that almost always means the "flag" breaker is tripped. Open the house battery compartment and look for a red or yellow flag sticking out of a small rectangle on one side of the Battery Control Center. Push the flag back in to reset the breaker.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 03:55 PM   #6
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
There are 3 rectangular boxes with red buttons out in house battery compartment. See attached photo. Should I just push all 3 in?

Maybe this is why outlets and a/c is not working on generator? Thanks Ray

BTM
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	869E3822-B65D-4EBD-97D4-958AC4E1FB4C.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	357.4 KB
ID:	257610  
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 03:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3,290
your far right 80amp is tripped, push the little 'flag' back in, and 'voila! you'll have power again : )
__________________
The Turners...
'07 Rockwood Signature Ultralight...
two Campers and two Electric cars : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 04:00 PM   #8
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 2,712
Only the far right one is tripped. Push the flag back in and I'll bet the inverter starts working.

Outlets, probably. A/C, nope.

Are both A/C's inop on generator or just one? On ours, the bedroom A/C is pretty much the only thing on one of the generator breakers.

Ray
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Flag.PNG
Views:	14
Size:	590.5 KB
ID:	257611  
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 04:49 PM   #9
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
Zantrex reset

I pushed in the red flag and Zantrex is working correctly.

Everything is now working if on shore power

I turned off A C units and disconnected shore power. Started generator, no power on passenger side gfci plugs or on driver side plugs and A C would not run.

THANKS for your help. It would be nice to have AC when running down the road home it is currently 108 here in Sedona

Both AC have been running on generator power I would reset breakers, but see no need since they are running on shore power

Any thoughts of where or what to check would be appreciated

Btm
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 05:07 PM   #10
Senior Member - Retired
 
CA Fisherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 340
Suggest you reset the two breakers on the generator itself, even if neither breaker looks tripped.
__________________
John & Gloria Hunsaker FROG Member CA-0030-988
2014 Georgetown XL 334QS (class A with 4 slides)
2013 Smart Car TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar, base plates, diode kit
SMI Stay-IN-Play Duo auxiliary braking system
25' Off shore blue water fishing boat
CA Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 05:38 PM   #11
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
Reset generator breakers

Did the reset. See post #3

Btm
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 06:16 PM   #12
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 2,712
The Automatic Transfer Switch simply substitutes generator poser for shore power. When stuff works on one but not the other it points to the ATS as being the issue.

Shut down the generator and disconnect shore power. Take the cover off the ATS and check all wires to assure they are tight and nothing looks burned.

You've been writing "AC" both singular and plural. Which one does not work on generator or is it both of them? And please confirm that both A/C's are fine on shore power.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 06:37 PM   #13
Senior Member - Retired
 
CA Fisherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Btm View Post
Did the reset. See post #3

Btm
Noticed this earlier, however if I understand the issue correctly (that will be a first) it sure sounds like one of the breakers on the generator. I thought the generator is powering some circuits and not others. Unless the real current issue is the circuits being powered are strictly from the inverter.
__________________
John & Gloria Hunsaker FROG Member CA-0030-988
2014 Georgetown XL 334QS (class A with 4 slides)
2013 Smart Car TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar, base plates, diode kit
SMI Stay-IN-Play Duo auxiliary braking system
25' Off shore blue water fishing boat
CA Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 07:39 PM   #14
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by NXR View Post
The Automatic Transfer Switch simply substitutes generator poser for shore power. VER stuff works on one but not the other it points to the ATS as being

Ray
EVERYTHING works on shore power
Both A C ( front and rear )
All wall plugs
Microwave
Convection Oven
T V s
Power vent

NOTHING woks when on generator power.

I dont think it is a breaker at the unless one of them went bad.

Like NXR says- most likely the ATS. I will check it tomorrow at our next RV park. It is still over 100 deg and the ATS compartment is on the West side.

Btm
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2021, 07:50 PM   #15
Senior Member - Retired
 
CA Fisherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Posts: 340
Appreciate the clarification. Yup, does sound like transfer switch. Acting like the older Georgetown which did not have a transfer switch and the generator powered nothing until the electrical service cord in a rear compartment was plugged into a receptacle in the same rear compartment. Those were the good old days.
__________________
John & Gloria Hunsaker FROG Member CA-0030-988
2014 Georgetown XL 334QS (class A with 4 slides)
2013 Smart Car TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar, base plates, diode kit
SMI Stay-IN-Play Duo auxiliary braking system
25' Off shore blue water fishing boat
CA Fisherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2021, 07:25 PM   #16
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
Generator power

Finally got to cooler weather in NM

I have a Precision Dynamics ATS

With the cover off and generator running line 1 only had 68.5 volts. Line 2 had 0 volts. So will have to have generator checked when I get home.

Everyone keeps talking about checking the generator breakers and resetting them. The breakers on my generator are not like most. They are like a toggle switch and flip side to side. They seem very switch. Maybe one has gone bad

Ill take it to the generator shop when I get home

Btm
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 10:11 AM   #17
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
No voltage

The Cummins authorized generator shop has fixed the no voltage to the transfer switch. The problem was no where near what anyone thought.

Listed below is what the repair ticket stated. Cost was $ 602.30 (about 5 hrs labor at $128 plus parts, tax, etc.)The tech that did the repair was not there when I picked up the M H , so I was unable to ask any questions. This problem sure seems unusual to have happened @ 250hours on the generator and 19k on the M H.

"Found the unit was not getting voltage to the transfer switch. Traced back from the transfer switch to the main junction for the generator. Found all the wires in the junction burned and melted at connections. Repaired wires, cables and connections. Tested operation and breakers were weak from the short in the junction. Replaced breakers and unit performed correctly."

I will be looking for the junction today, just to see where it is and if it would be something to check every so often.

I sure didn't like the cost , but it was nice to have the generator cooling on the way home from the shop.

Btm
__________________
Ben Moore
Temple,TX
2019 GT5 31L5F, 2014 Wrangler Unlimited
CHF rear, CHF front, Sumo springs front
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 10:23 AM   #18
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 2,712
Yes, ugly indeed. Thanks for the follow-up.

Where is that main junction located? I was under the impression that the cable from the generator ran all the way back to the ATS but I've never actually traced that wiring.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2021, 10:51 AM   #19
Btm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Texas
Posts: 257
I will be looking for the junction today. I think it is in the generator bay. I'll let you know.


Btm
__________________
Ben Moore
Temple,TX
2019 GT5 31L5F, 2014 Wrangler Unlimited
CHF rear, CHF front, Sumo springs front
Btm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
500, onan, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.