Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2018, 04:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Sbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 416
Inverter for residential refrigerator

First, we have a 2014 Georgetown 360 XL which we purchased new in Nov, 2013. We absolutely love our coach.

I know there are some very knowledgeable people on this forum so Iím looking for someone to provide us with some helpful directions.

The last several months, either sitting with no engine running, or driving down the road, the refrigerator would not come on or it turns off sometime during the trip.

Today leaving Birmingham to head back to Mississippi, the inverter would not come on; therefore no power for the fridge.

DH has checked the batteries and they are good. He was looking at the inverter and found a built in gfi, which we had no idea was there. We can only assume since the gfi was tripped thatís the reason the fridge has turned off several times.

So hereís the question. What makes the gfi trip? Since itís built in should I assume it canít be replaced? Does that mean the inverter is going bad?

Someone, please share some knowledge so we can follow the trail.

Thank you so much!

Shirley Bryant
Sbryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 04:53 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 13,579
How did you check the batteries? If they are original batteries, they may test good in static mode, but are not capable of handling a load.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 05:18 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Sbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 416
So are you saying that if the batteries are defective that would cause the gfi to trip?
Sbryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 05:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 6,070
What is brand and model of Inverter that has 'built in GFI'???
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 05:25 PM   #5
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 28,084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbryant View Post
So hereís the question. What makes the gfi trip? Since itís built in should I assume it canít be replaced? Does that mean the inverter is going bad?

Someone, please share some knowledge so we can follow the trail.

Thank you so much!

Shirley Bryant
Shirley this is a good explanation on why GFCI trips (for what they are designed for)

Power Inverters and GFCI Tripping | Don Rowe Power Inverters Blog

No, it doesn't mean the inverter is going bad cause the gfci is tripping, but something else could be having problems.

Do you know if anything else is wired to this inverter besides the refrigerator? Do you have outlets in the coach or other 120 volt appliances that work when not using shore power or the generator (ex, microwave, tv, etc)?
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Golf ball-sized hail wouldn't be as destructive if golf balls were just made smaller.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 05:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Sbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 416
Very difficult to get up into compartment above propane tank. But I saw Prowatt SW on the top and on the front it says Prowatt SW 1000.
Sbryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Sbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 416
Inverter for residential refrigerator

The only thing our inverter runs is the refrigerator
Sbryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2018, 08:12 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 6,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbryant View Post
Very difficult to get up into compartment above propane tank. But I saw Prowatt SW on the top and on the front it says Prowatt SW 1000.
OK, made by Xantrex.

Here is one, click on specs. It does say "Dual GFI receptacles".

https://www.batterystuff.com/inverte...PointTechSpecs

There are links there to the specs and to the manual. Possibly something there might help? I did see this in the manual:

GFCI protection De-energizes the AC circuits and thereby protects the user from electric shock if a ground fault occurs.


From the manual from Troubleshooting:

To test (or reset) the GFCI protection:
1. Press the unit’s power switch to turn the inverter On.
2. Plug a test lamp into the AC outlet.
3. Push the TEST button.
Note: The RESET button should pop out and the power should
turn Off (the lamp should go out). If the lamp remains lit, or if
the RESET button does not pop out, the GFCI may not be
functioning.
If the GFCI trips by itself at any time, reset it and perform the
preceding test.
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 01:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,188
Okay, so now you've had a lesson in GFIs, but slim answers to your question, namely "What causes the GFI to trip?"

One cause which was mentioned was "another GFI downstream." Is the outlet that the refrigerator plugs into also a GFI outlet? Does it have Test and Reset buttons on it? You don't need two. Since it's difficult to mess with the inverter, you could change the outlet behind the refrigerator.

Another cause is dampness. Any moisture at all can cause a tiny current flow across the surface of an outlet (either the one on the inverter or the one for the refrigerator). Is it getting really steamy humid in the motorhome? If so, that could be the cause. You could spray A LITTLE BIT of WD-40 on the outlet faces and refrigerator plug but that won't be a long-lasting solution.

There could be current leakage from any electrical terminals. Is there moisture around the refrigerator's compressor, perhaps from an icemaker leak? Pull the refrigerator out, take off the cardboard cover at the bottom and make sure everything is dry.

Just a few suggestions.

Larry
Larry-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 01:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
once the GFI trips it will not reset itself. If your fridge problem is intermittent than the GFI is not at fault. Have your batteries load checked. Not just check the voltage.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 01:46 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 13,579
No bad batteries should not trip the GFCI in the inverter, but if I understand the quoted part of your post below it is not the GFCI. They generally do not auto reset and if you did not know it was there, once tripped, the fridge will not have worked until you found and reset it. The inverter, will shutdown of the supply voltage ( batteries) is too low. You can take them to be load tested or put a digital meter on them and start the inverter and run the fridge. Measure the battery voltage when the inverter is supplying power to the fridge or another load.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbryant View Post
found a built in gfi, which we had no idea was there. We can only assume since the gfi was tripped thatís the reason the fridge has turned off several times.




Shirley Bryant
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 03:00 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kirtland, OH
Posts: 328
1000 (watts) is not enough for a fridge. I ripped mine out and put a 2000 in. End of problems.
__________________
William & Sara
2012 Silverado 2500 HD DA
2014 Cedar Creek 38CK
Sterlingsilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 04:05 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Granbury Texas
Posts: 42
I have the 2000 watt inverter on my 2014 351ds and noticed the fridge started randomly resetting the gfci. It is a common problem if you do a search. A gfci is very sensitive and should not be used on a fridge circuit. Forrest River installs these inverters because it is a low cost inverter. The solution is to either replace your inverter for a new one or several people including myself have opened up the inverter and replaced the gfci outlet with a standard outlet that does not have a gfci. The circuit that the residential fridge is on in a site built home never gets a gfci receptacle, they are too sensitive.
jfp2673 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 06:12 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Kirtland, OH
Posts: 328
Forgot to mention, my 2000 watt inverter was $129 from Harbor Freight. No GFCI on that baby and really no need for it on a fridge circuit. IMO I also switch it manually with a toggle switch. Not much to go wrong.
__________________
William & Sara
2012 Silverado 2500 HD DA
2014 Cedar Creek 38CK
Sterlingsilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2018, 07:13 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfp2673 View Post
I have the 2000 watt inverter on my 2014 351ds and noticed the fridge started randomly resetting the gfci. It is a common problem if you do a search. A gfci is very sensitive and should not be used on a fridge circuit. Forrest River installs these inverters because it is a low cost inverter. The solution is to either replace your inverter for a new one or several people including myself have opened up the inverter and replaced the gfci outlet with a standard outlet that does not have a gfci. The circuit that the residential fridge is on in a site built home never gets a gfci receptacle, they are too sensitive.
+++2
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 12:23 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 4
We had a similar issue, it turner out that the negative ground screw was loose. I took it out and replaced it with a nut and bolt. No more issues now
WhatsNext is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2018, 12:35 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Sbryant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quitman MS
Posts: 416
Whatís Next - can you tell me where the ground screw is located? Thanks.
Sbryant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 AM.