Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-14-2021, 06:35 PM   #1

leveling advice on new class A

Hello all I'm new to the class A crowd with my GT7 I just got a couple months ago after owning a travel trailer for 9 years. I'm having some rookie problems with the leveling system. i did just get a level mate pro plus so i am excited for that but on the slightest slope (my almost level driveway) auto level wants to raise the front tire off the ground. I am wandering is it proper to use old manual leveling techniques on the chassis by raising the tire onto leveling blocks on the low side to fix this? and then adding a block under the jack to adjust for the raised height or am i going about it all wrong? I do think I will switch to the manual level method after reading online I don't see much about people using leveling products on class A .so what better place to get the conversation going than right here, thanks in advance for advice.
jdgibson325 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 07:02 PM   #2

I don't have an A, I have a C but the principle is the same. You could get a hundred different opinions but here is mine. Always rough level the rig before deploying the levelers if it needs it. Use blocks anywhere you need to and NEVER level your rig with tires off the ground.
Sunseeker16 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2021, 07:42 PM   #3
Wanderluster

Regardless of the type of motorhome, most have the same type of automatic/hydraulic leveling systems (typically HWH brand). If you park your coach on a surface that is very uneven, the levelers will lift one or more wheels off the ground. If/when that happens, simply use the manual control buttons on the side/corner that is off the ground, and lower it until the tire is back on the ground. You should never allow your leveling system to lift any wheel(s) off the ground.