Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2013, 10:08 PM   #1

LP/CO Detector question by newbie

Hi folks,

I'm new to the RV community, having just bought my first motorhome, a 2008 Georgetown 350TS. The problem I'm having is that the CO/LP detector started chirping while the RV was sitting in my back yard with the gas off. When I turn on the engine for a while, the chirping stops. I've read several posts through Google, and everyone refers to the possibility of the "RV battery" being low or possibly need replacing. When you talk about the "RV battery," does that mean the battery at the engine compartment that versus the "house" batteries? The RV starts right up, so I wonder if the battery up front is bad, but I haven't done any voltage testing. Sorry for the dumb question. I'm just picking up the lingo.
cecijoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 10:38 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by cecijoe
Hi folks,

I'm new to the RV community, having just bought my first motorhome, a 2008 Georgetown 350TS. The problem I'm having is that the CO/LP detector started chirping while the RV was sitting in my back yard with the gas off. When I turn on the engine for a while, the chirping stops. I've read several posts through Google, and everyone refers to the possibility of the "RV battery" being low or possibly need replacing. When you talk about the "RV battery," does that mean the battery at the engine compartment that versus the "house" batteries? The RV starts right up, so I wonder if the battery up front is bad, but I haven't done any voltage testing. Sorry for the dumb question. I'm just picking up the lingo.
No such thing as "dumb" question. Coach battery (s) usually under the steps. Chassis battery under hood. Chassis is high current starting battery. The coach battery is long lasting Deep cycle. Totally different purposes. Have battery tested before changing.