RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2014, 01:50 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 272
Poor / no TV reception

So, we've never really been able to tune in many channels over the antenna, and in some cases, none at all. I'm wondering if the antenna is even hooked up. I've heard various comments on folks loathing the antennas they put on the new GT's, but surely we should be able to get a few channels.

We are usually in a park w/ cable, but the occasional times, like now, that we're not, we can't seem to get even local channels. Right now we are in Niagra Falls. Recently when camped 30 mi from Memphis, couldn't get a single channel.

The selector box in cabinet above passenger is set to "antenna", and the antenna booster switch in back of cab is "on" with the green light illuminated. TV set to tune channels over the air / antenna. Connections going into selector box are all tight. No issues when tuning channels when hooked up to cable.

Ideas?
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 02:09 PM   #2
Kanadian Kamper
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Prince Edward County, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 4,510
Looks like you've got everything covered. You're right.........it should work.

I would test the continuity of the coax starting at the connector of the antennae on the roof. I made my own kind of audible testing equipment to do some work on our rig a few years ago. I would bet there's an open connection somewhere between the actual antennae and the selector box coax end. When you move the selector to cable, you're saying your televisions work just fine.
__________________

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S
and if we ever need it, can be pushed by our 2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
Former Georgetown 330TS owner for 10 years with more mods than I can count.
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 09:46 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 10
Is there anything in the set-up menu on the TV that needs to be changed from "cable" to "over the air?"
Clemdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
iluvlcy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Broken Arrow, OK
Posts: 354
Have you had the tv do a channel search to find channels in the area you are in?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Pam & Don
2003 Ford Expedition EB
2011 Rockwood 2304s

108 days camped 2013
74 days camped 2014 so far
iluvlcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 11:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
RSchleder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvlcy View Post
Have you had the tv do a channel search to find channels in the area you are in?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
EXCELLENT thought!
RSchleder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 07:45 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 11,856
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvlcy View Post
Have you had the tv do a channel search to find channels in the area you are in?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Quote:
Originally Posted by RSchleder View Post
EXCELLENT thought!
X3. Everytime you move you've got to rescan for local channels.
__________________
2020 Flagstaff Micro Lite 22FBS
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 10:59 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 28
I have experienced the same problem. Had no channels after a scan and all inputs correct. My neighbor was receiving 7 channels right next to me with the crank up older model. We ran a coax cable from his antenna to the back of my selector box and guess what. Yep, 7 channels! We trouble shot all the things we could think of and came to the conclusion it must be a bad antenna. Looking for a replacement now.
pkhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemdog View Post
Is there anything in the set-up menu on the TV that needs to be changed from "cable" to "over the air?"
Yes, as indicated in my post, tv is set to tune over air
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by iluvlcy View Post
Have you had the tv do a channel search to find channels in the area you are in?

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Um, yes...that's the issue. It's not tuning any channels.
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 11:53 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
43D18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiscampsin View Post

X3. Everytime you move you've got to rescan for local channels.
Yes, of course. Figured that was a given.
__________________
Mike & Suz
2014 Georgetown 351
Pontiac Vibe toad
Buck & Patsy, the boston-mix guard dogs
43D18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 03:45 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
RSchleder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by 43D18 View Post
Yes, of course. Figured that was a given.
It should be. However, it never really hurts to ask. Sometimes it's the obvious things that are causing the problem.
RSchleder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 07:42 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mlangdn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Western Kentucky
Posts: 285
I was camping last week at Rough River here in Ky. I was about 50 miles from Louisville, and couldn't get good reception. The channels were found, but would fade in and out. It even picked up some from Bowling Green, but had the same issue.

At home in the driveway near Owensboro, I get about 12 channels that are crystal clear and perfect. I'm guessing that all the trees at the campground blocks reception.
__________________
2014 Coachmen Catalina
243RBS 50th Anniversary
2013 F250 Lariat 6.7 Powerstroke
mlangdn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:34 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Dodge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,359
I found on our current trailer that I could never get cable to work in the trailer. turns out they cut the copper wire to short and it wasn`t making contact at one of the connections. I redid the connection and then my cable worked in the trailer. the other issue I just found was that my antenna was no good. It never really worked that good from new. In my driveway, which is 40 miles outside Chicago, I was lucky to get the 10 local stations. when they switched to digital I lost all but one station and it would junp in and out. I dealt with it for years until I replaced the factory antenna this year with a Jack antenna. I now get 71 (yes 71) stations in my driveway. and at the campgrounds that we didn`t get any signal we can now get near 20 stations! best $35 I spent on the trailer. I checked all connections before the swap and all was OK. I`ve heard the same from others with similar complaints. If all your connections are good I would consider a change to the Jack antenna!
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 350TS, Hellwig front/rear sway bars, Sumo Springs, Blue OX True Center steering damper
2013 Ford Explorer LTD toad, Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP><Tow Brake

Better to have a bad day of camping than a good day at work!
Dodge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Iwannacamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 7,855
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge Guy View Post
I found on our current trailer that I could never get cable to work in the trailer. turns out they cut the copper wire to short and it wasn`t making contact at one of the connections. I redid the connection and then my cable worked in the trailer. the other issue I just found was that my antenna was no good. It never really worked that good from new. In my driveway, which is 40 miles outside Chicago, I was lucky to get the 10 local stations. when they switched to digital I lost all but one station and it would junp in and out. I dealt with it for years until I replaced the factory antenna this year with a Jack antenna. I now get 71 (yes 71) stations in my driveway. and at the campgrounds that we didn`t get any signal we can now get near 20 stations! best $35 I spent on the trailer. I checked all connections before the swap and all was OK. I`ve heard the same from others with similar complaints. If all your connections are good I would consider a change to the Jack antenna!

Please tell us more about the kind of antenna you chose....


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
2017 Puma 297RLSS
2005 Ram 2500 4X4 diesel SMOKER!!
I love puns, irony and tasteless jokes...
born in Texas.... live in Arkansas
Iwannacamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 10:40 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dodge Guy View Post
I found on our current trailer that I could never get cable to work in the trailer. turns out they cut the copper wire to short and it wasn`t making contact at one of the connections. I redid the connection and then my cable worked in the trailer. the other issue I just found was that my antenna was no good. It never really worked that good from new. In my driveway, which is 40 miles outside Chicago, I was lucky to get the 10 local stations. when they switched to digital I lost all but one station and it would junp in and out. I dealt with it for years until I replaced the factory antenna this year with a Jack antenna. I now get 71 (yes 71) stations in my driveway. and at the campgrounds that we didn`t get any signal we can now get near 20 stations! best $35 I spent on the trailer. I checked all connections before the swap and all was OK. I`ve heard the same from others with similar complaints. If all your connections are good I would consider a change to the Jack antenna!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwannacamp View Post
Please tell us more about the kind of antenna you chose....


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
More info
We had a chance to test a King Jack against our Winegard with the Wingman add on.
Before the digital conversion we received 1 good and 1 not so good analog channels at our south central CO. location.
After the analog to digital conversion 0 channels.
I changed the Winegard to a Jack and the Jack could find 1 not usable digital channel, proof to me that Jack works even if we're too far away for it be watchable.

A friend has an omnidirectional antenna that doesn't work at his house, our King picks up several (30+) hand held on his roof using the coax that goes to his antenna.

Here are some links
King controls
Products | King

Camping world
KING Digital HDTV Antenna Replacement Head - King Controls OA-8000 - Over-the-Air Antennas - Camping World

Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&key...l_1f87123niq_b
__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 08:41 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Dodge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,359
Thanks for your input. I`ve never heard of it called the King Jack antenna. Your results are similar to mine and other people that have switched to the Jack.

Iwannacamp, the second link in abjb`s post is the Jack. in the other link it is on the right in the 3rd or 4th line.
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 350TS, Hellwig front/rear sway bars, Sumo Springs, Blue OX True Center steering damper
2013 Ford Explorer LTD toad, Roadmaster Stowmaster 5000, VIP><Tow Brake

Better to have a bad day of camping than a good day at work!
Dodge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 08:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 57
On my GT 351DS I have a little tiny amplifier button on the cable output in the cabinet above the passenger seat. When amplifying I have a tiny green light that comes on. I have been keeping it turned off except when tuning and watching tv over the air.

In my driveway I get no channels when it's off and 11 when it's on. Worth a shot.
DustyR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:06 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 28
Tried that. Hooked rabbit ears inside and got more channels. That isn't hard since my rooftop gets zero!
pkhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:32 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
abjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 548
Time for the BIG question.

Is anyone satisfied with their omnidirectional antenna?

ab&jb
__________________
2012 Georgetown 360
SHE wanted "a new motorhome"
abjb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2014, 09:52 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Krazymace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sunriver, Oregon
Posts: 502
Mine has seemed to work just fine!


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
Krazymace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reception, tv reception

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 AM.