RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2014, 03:19 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,878
Step power lost at switch

Hi All.
I'm on the road and had something happen to my steps which I need everyone's help with.
I know I help a lot of folks but can't figure this one out.

I lost the power to my step light switch which turn on and off the steps.
The switch light has no power to it doesn't light.
The step no longer goes in when I start the motorhome like it used to.
No can anyone help my find the possible blown fuse from the engine that makes the steps go in automatically when the engine is started?

Here is the picture of the switch I'm talking about.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	146
Size:	85.2 KB
ID:	54408  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS
Facebook Georgetown Owners Club
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 03:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,976
Iggy, have a look underneath your steps and above the house battery for the battery control center. In it seems to be a 5 amp fuse show in orange (ESF)
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Georgetown-Battery Connect Center.pdf (318.6 KB, 104 views)
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 03:33 PM   #3
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,644
I do not know about the fuse issue but my father had a georgetown and a few years ago had a similar problem. I ended up finding some bad connectors under the steps area that were supplying power to and from the control module. They looked good at first glance but once a test light was put on them they turned up all corroded out.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 03:37 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
Isn't there a 25 amp fuse connected directly to the batteries that supply power to the steps? evidently your steps are out and will not retract, is this so?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2014, 03:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
Even if the engine start won't retract your steps they still should retract with the step switch on and the door closed. It sounds like main power loss. And I think main power is from an in line fuse at the batteries. You now have kwikee steps and they may have connected power differently than LCI. By the way, those switchlights are very cheap and light burning out is not un-common. Battery disconnect is not in disconnect position I assume. Didn't you install a by-pass switch for the door magnetic switch?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 09:39 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
Any followup thus far?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 11:06 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
jojo bamboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 149
Its one of the 2 power plugs that go to the steps.
There..... its fixed. "that was easy"
jojo bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2014, 09:25 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
copsuno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Greer, SC
Posts: 277
Iggy, just reminder, that if the magnet on screen door does not line up correctly with the magnet mounted to door frame, steps will not work even with engine start. Just had that happen in AZ, Yesterday. Leave main door open and try engine start, if no action pull on screen and make sure magnets line up, mine out of alignment at bottom.
__________________
Logic will carry you from point A to point B. Imagination will carry you everywhere. "Albert Einstein". 2011 Georgetown 360, Bride of 45yrs, and 2014 Chev Equinox toad, what more could you ask for.
copsuno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 01:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
intercept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 158
Had my 2012 378XL do the same. The switch had oxidized contacts from not being used. 10 to 15 of pushes and it works ok again.
Try that and if the light even flickers once change the switch.
__________________


2012 Georgetown 378XL
Toad 07 Lexus RX350
intercept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,976
Iggy, sure would like to get an update on your status, has anyone here helped or not?
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2019 F350 Ruby Red 6.7l diesel 3.31 axle electronic locker
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 02:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,878
I have installed a switch instead of the door magnet contact.
This makes the steps extend or retract and I will figure out the other switch when I get home. I am on the road and don't want to tare everything apart now.

The 3 wires on the bad switch has a power and 2 other leads but not sure where the power comes from nor the 2 control wires.
Anyone have any ideas where those wire go to?
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS
Facebook Georgetown Owners Club
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 10:16 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 85
This file only shows two wires at the switch but uploaded incase it helps,
Attached Files
File Type: pdf om-Motorized_Coach_Steps.pdf (80.0 KB, 49 views)
__________________
2007 Georgetown 373
Nutmeg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 01:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
intercept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 158
Iggy,
Red lead is the + power from the coach
White is the switched power that is sent to the step controller when the switch is on.
The third Black wire is the ground for the switch light.

The magnetic door switch provides a short to chassis ground for the controller.
To check that operation make sure one side of the switch has a good chassis ground.
If it doesn't work after making sure the chassis ground is good, then short the hot lead to chassis ground. If it operates the step when you do that you have a bad magnetic switch.
If shorting the hot side of the mag switch doesn't make a difference you have a bad connection to the step controller or a bad controller.

Let us know!!
__________________


2012 Georgetown 378XL
Toad 07 Lexus RX350
intercept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 03:01 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by intercept View Post
Iggy,
Red lead is the + power from the coach
White is the switched power that is sent to the step controller when the switch is on.
The third Black wire is the ground for the switch light.

The magnetic door switch provides a short to chassis ground for the controller.
To check that operation make sure one side of the switch has a good chassis ground.
If it doesn't work after making sure the chassis ground is good, then short the hot lead to chassis ground. If it operates the step when you do that you have a bad magnetic switch.
If shorting the hot side of the mag switch doesn't make a difference you have a bad connection to the step controller or a bad controller.

Let us know!!
Thanks
I appreciate the information.
My problem or question regards the lighted switch.
It seems I lost all power to light up the switch.
The switch has 3 wires and I get no 12 volts to ground on none of them.
Thinking I blew the fuse but can not find the fuse or source.
I checked all the fuses in the control center and they are all good.
Checked the DC fuses next to the electrical panel in the bedroom. All good.
I started checking the fuse panel below the drivers seat but haven't checked them all as it is difficult to get under there.

Does this help a little?
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS
Facebook Georgetown Owners Club
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 09:03 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
intercept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgewater, NJ
Posts: 158
Yes it does help me understand the issue.
The Step power comes from the Battery control center under the step. You were there.
There is a left and a right bank of fuses inside the box. The step fuse is a 5 Amp fuse on the right side of the left bank. Another description is there are two 5 amp fuses in the center of all of the fuses. The step fuse is the left 5 amp fuse. I had a bad one that looked perfect but when I replaced it the circuit started working. Try replacing it. That is the only step fuse I know of. If the replacement fuse doesn't fix it you should look of a bad connection between the control center and the switch. I had one wire that I had no luck tracing and ran a jumper wire from the control center by drilling a hole in the heater compartment under the fridge and dropping the wire down. The vented cover allows you access there.

Sorry I couldn't help u more.
I will look at my step in the AM and see if I figure any more stuff out.

Best of luck.
Jack
__________________


2012 Georgetown 378XL
Toad 07 Lexus RX350
intercept is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 07:50 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
You have Kwikee steps and they are wired a little different than Lippert. The fuse to the switchlight may have been spliced or just tapped off external from where the main power fuse is connected. As said that extra wire from the switch is most likely the gnd for the bulb. The schematic depicts a non illuminated step switch. You'll get it.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	kwikee.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	597.2 KB
ID:	55188  
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 07:49 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
As you have said, it's good that people come back with the fix for a problem they are having. So, what happened?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 07:12 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,351
Yeah, how was this issue resolved??
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2014, 07:54 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
jojo bamboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: vero beach fl
Posts: 149
....so that we can all learn something, just incase
jojo bamboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.