Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-03-2020, 04:36 AM   #1

Second trip--Breaker tripping in hot afternoon

This 28' Lexington is new to us, so bear with me

First trip went with no probs in 95 degree heat. No breaker trips.

Second trip--AC breaker popped in late afternoon

Park host came to site and said husband had recently changed out elec plug in on park site since our last time on same site 3 weeks ago.

Third day in late afternoon in 98 degrees, AC breaker popped again. Park Ranger came to site and changed out park breaker and we had no more breaker pops.

So, I assume this was a park elec prob but am not sure.

What do you think? This MH is 15 years old.

Finally, that elec box holding breaker sometimes comes on (buzzes) for maybe 20 minutes and then goes off. Is this normal? What is it doing?

Thanks. I'm a newbie just trying to learn.......and be safe.

We love this 283 Lex with only 49K
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1283.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	630.8 KB
ID:	232986  
Lexington 283 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 06:36 AM   #2

Is it the breaker at the power pedestal or the breaker in your rv that was tripping? If it is the one outside, it was probably there breaker/problem. I have been at a campground before that the outside breaker sounded like bacon frying. I noticed it when I reset it one morning after it tripped. It was replaced and all was good after that.
bigmurph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2020, 06:42 AM   #3

Sounds like problem was at the Park. Keep asking lots of knowledge on the forum.
Old 07-03-2020, 07:45 AM   #4

Did you check the voltage? Could be low voltage and it may be intermittent so just checking once might not be enough. Low voltage will cause an increase in amps to compensate. Also could be a bad breaker.
Old 07-03-2020, 08:24 AM   #5