Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2013, 09:10 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexasBob View Post
IE 10 in Compatibility Mode, same error
Gonna make me install IE10 now aren't ya.....
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:13 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
The thing is the error sometimes shows up and sometimes not, I am pretty sure it is related to one of the ads. After the last time it showed up it disappeared.
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 09:31 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goomph View Post
The thing is the error sometimes shows up and sometimes not, I am pretty sure it is related to one of the ads. After the last time it showed up it disappeared.
OK so I upgraded to IE10 however I do not have the problem. Than again I do have ads blocked. For those of you that are experiencing this problem perhaps we can try something else here. Let's block the ads (yes, this might even help with another post around the ads that pop up on this site.)

Let's try another one......

How to disable Ads in Internet Explorer 10
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 10:08 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Everett, Washington
Posts: 170
I am by no stretch of the imagination a computer guy but I can follow directions. And I followed the like above and it did get rid of the ads but not the certificate error notice. The ads are kind of anoying so those are gone.
MMattox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 10:21 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Ok, I really hate to ask but could someone that is having the problem please either do a screen capture (there is a snipping tool in windows 7) or fully document the entire error message? If there are any "click here for more info" that info would be great as well..........

Also, please copy and paste the full URL that you are on as you receive this error message and also the one that is in your browser right now.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 10:23 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
PS....glad to know the ads are gone.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:08 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
kho6658's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 288
I'm getting it IE8 and the Http link.

I am running IE8.
Link is Forest River Forums - Forest River Owners Community
Click image for larger version

Name:	Certificate error.PNG
Views:	75
Size:	3.8 KB
ID:	28943
__________________
2019 Sabre 36BHQ
2017 F350 Lariat

My first
kho6658 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:09 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
spierce617's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 252
Just switch over to Firefox or Chrome browser. It does not happen to me when I am using them.
__________________
1999 Chevrolet Suburban 5.7L V8
2005 Cherokee Lite 28A
spierce617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:16 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
kho6658's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 288
I went ahead and excepted the blocked content and it is an ad for facebook. Certificate error doesn't pop-up anymore.

Name:   Facebook link.jpg
Views: 53
Size:  15.5 KB
__________________
2019 Sabre 36BHQ
2017 F350 Lariat

My first
kho6658 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:18 PM   #30
Owner/Operator
 
RodeoGeorge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chino Valley, AZ
Posts: 671
Partial Screen Shot

Here's a partial screen shot.



RodeoGeorge
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8289WS
Mods: Central Vac, PI EMS-HW50C, 2025RV, (2) SCS225 Trojans, PD9260, Awning Remotes & LED Lights, Eliminators, External Water Filter,, Intellijacks
2008 RAM 3500 Cab&Chassis Hauler Bed, B&W Companion Hitch
All My Modifications are at this link:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ons-36212.html
RodeoGeorge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:35 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
This is going to sound really weird, but can you check the time/date on your computer? Click on the clock, then click on Change Date/Time Settings. Then click on the Internet Tab. Click on Change Settings, Make sure you are set to syncronize with an Internet Time Server (time.windows.com), then click on Update Now
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:52 PM   #32
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
This is going to sound really weird, but can you check the time/date on your computer? Click on the clock, then click on Change Date/Time Settings. Then click on the Internet Tab. Click on Change Settings, Make sure you are set to syncronize with an Internet Time Server (time.windows.com), then click on Update Now
Curious if anyone tried this that was having the issue and what the results were?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:32 PM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: michigan
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Curious if anyone tried this that was having the issue and what the results were?
I did give it a try...no luck! Thanks anyway QCCowboy..

TravelTracer
__________________
2014 F150, Supercrew, 3.5L Eco-Boost, 3.73, Max Tow
2012 Prime Time Tracer 2670 BHS
TravelTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:36 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: michigan
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by herk7769 View Post
Have you reported this to the help desk?

All the way to the bottom Green Bar. Click on "Contact Us"
They may have specific requests to try and resolve your issue.
Thanks....I did report it today. Hopefully, they'll be able to help!

TravelTracer
__________________
2014 F150, Supercrew, 3.5L Eco-Boost, 3.73, Max Tow
2012 Prime Time Tracer 2670 BHS
TravelTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:38 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelTracer View Post

I did give it a try...no luck! Thanks anyway QCCowboy..

TravelTracer
Bummer. Wish I could help more but without being able to recreate it on my end it will be a little tough. Let me know what the fix is.
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 05:39 PM   #36
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,995
Quote:
Originally Posted by QCCowboy View Post
Curious if anyone tried this that was having the issue and what the results were?
I was going to suggest this, but it is a rare issue. If your computer's time is radically different than the "real time" you can get security errors.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 08:45 PM   #37
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
So maybe one last thing to look at here. If you "right-click" somewhere on the page and select properties, there should be a certificates button in the lower right hand corner, when you click this, what does it tell you?
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 09:17 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
kho6658's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 288
I have been able to stop the error by accepting the displayed content. Once I do that, I can see the advertisment for joining the Forestriver facebook page. This is what I get when clicking the certificate botton under the page properties.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Certificate error1.PNG
Views:	51
Size:	15.1 KB
ID:	29030
__________________
2019 Sabre 36BHQ
2017 F350 Lariat

My first
kho6658 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 01:34 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
QCCowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 880
At this point in time I am going to have to go back to something that Herk mentioned several posts back, there must be something specific to those computers or networks that each of you that are experiencing the problem are running (but also common amongst you).

Here is what I know. Some are running IE10 and one is even running IE8. Those that are running Safari (Mac) or Chrome/FireFox, are not experiencing the problem. I cannot recreate this (believe me I have actually tried six ways from Sunday) problem with IE10.

It might be realted to ads or the Facebook portion of the page, however I have used both with ad-blockers and without, and while logged into FB and not. It is not a compatibility issue as I did not run in compatability mode.

So the question becomes what is the commonality between all of your computers? Well if you wish to procede further here you can all compare patch levels, AV software, and even time on your PC's.

I would also recommend that one of you that is having the problem try this on Chrome and see if you have the same problem.

Because this site does not use SSL there are no certs, so this compounds the problem and points back to something else however sites like FB are highly unlikely to have Cert problems.

Here are some of the things that I did and if any of you want to try these perhaps there will be something that will cure the problem:

- install and ENABLE ad bockers
- reset all defaults on IE settings
- uninstall and reinstall Flash and Java
- Sync your time
- update all security patches via windows update
- restart both browser and computer when asked
- clear cache, history, etc.
- uninstall IE 10 and re-install
- disable AV software temporarily
- disable firewall temporarily
- tried this on multiple computers (one of which had never been on FRF before)


- realized I could have done a lot of other things during this time

Good luck!
__________________
Jack of all trades - Master of none
2012 F350 CC DRW - 6.7L PSD
2014 Sabre 36QBOK
QCCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 05:07 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 251
QC: ads are driven by an account setup in the background and delivered via SSL. I get the cert error and I understand what people are seeing. IE is attempting to protect from cross site scripting and the likes. Thus, it makes sense that the people blocking ads wouldn't see it. Also, Chrome and Macs don't have that notion of security so that's why that subset of users aren't seeing it as well. ��
__________________
Chris
Cumming, GA
2013 Georgetown 351DSF

https://curban.smugmug.com/Urban-Fami...rgetown-351DSF
ChrisMSNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 AM.