Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2020, 03:44 PM   #1

1st timer - 36ft. Travel Trailer - 36VBDS - Help!

Just bought a 36 ft. Salem - 36VBDS - I am scheduled to do a walk around next week, during which it sounds like they will be attempting to upsell me on things I will "need" for my camper. I have the following questions, please someone help I am clueless!

- My site has a gray/black water service that I plan to use, will I be needing the hoses that I have seen recommended?
- I will not be moving my camper for a while, so A. does the camper come with leveling items? B. If not what should I buy for leveling on grass? I imagine that anything the dealership has will be marked up quite a bit?
- Do I need a truck capable of towing the weight of the camper during the leveling?

Any other information would be fantastic as I am brand new to this and trying to make some great memories with the family. Thanks and have a great summer!
Cleveland36er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2020, 04:11 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland36er View Post

- My site has a gray/black water service that I plan to use, will I be needing the hoses that I have seen?

you will need a sewer hose to drain the gray and black tanks into the on-site sewer. you will need a water grade hose to get water from the spigot to the trailer

- I will not be moving my camper for a while, so A. does the camper come with leveling items? B. If not what should I buy for leveling on grass? I imagine that anything the dealership has will be marked up quite a bit?

there are many options. many people use blocks of wood, other use leveling blocks.