Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2020, 03:12 PM   #1

Arizona and Montana LLC registration

I am a new Arizona resident and have a Trust and a number of LLCs for various reasons. Thinking of a motorhome purchase thru a MT based LLC.
Anyone in Arizona encounter and problems locally?
I would imagine with all the snow birds that Montana or other out of state plates wouldnt be a problem. I believe that California and some other states have specific laws that they use to go after you for MT registrations....
Old 06-10-2020, 05:21 PM   #2

Can't speak for all states but in WA it's where the vehicle spends most of it's time that matters.

Our State Patrol has a whole division that chases down these out of state registered MH's, Cars, Trucks, Boats, and Aircraft, that are "based" here.

Had a friend that was on that detail just before he retired. He laughed and told me how many people doing this were turned in my neighbors.

Again, speaking for WA, if caught the penalty is not just a regular ticket with fine, it's a bill for any Sales Tax not paid as well as unpaid registration fees all the way back to the purchase date. OUCH.

"You only grow old when you run out of new things to do"

2018 Flagstaff Micro Lite 25BDS
2023 f-150 SCREW XLT 3.5 Ecoboost (The result of a $68,000 oil change)
TitanMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 09:48 PM   #3

If you're an Arizona resident, why would you want to register your vehicle in another state?
AlaskaErik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2020, 01:25 AM   #4

LLC reply

I've read and talked to a few people about options to register. Its actually much lower than what I anticipated to register my Class C.

I've talked to a few people that registered their RV's out of state in Montana with LLC's and they have not had any problems.

I'm not sure of the logistics.
pondo60 is offline   Reply With Quote