Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-31-2018, 11:02 AM   #1

Camper Explosion-depreciation

We had purchased an A192HW this last summer and on our 2nd trip, our stove top exploded from under the cabinet area with 3 of us inside. Thankfully, no serious injuries, mostly singed and knocked around. This happened back in August. I recently called the dealer, and they do have the camper back and repaired. The warranty covered this. I am trying to get a hold of the person who is handling my claim at FR warranty. It's been almost 2 months since we last spoke. Before I accept my camper back, do I have to worry about a depreciation loss? There was a warden report filed. They had to replace the roof. Anything else I need to be concerned about? I am a newbie in the camper world.
Valli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:10 AM   #2
Site Team

You'd only have to worry about depreciation if you plan on selling it anytime soon. I would be more worried about whether or not they found the cause of the problem and corrected it.

It's not everyday I hear about stoves exploding in campers.
Iwritecode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:24 AM   #3

Good Grief... I'm glad everybody is okay.

The thing with depreciation in RVs is that they're not like cars in how their valued. On VERY high-end models you can most likely file a claim on depreciation, but for your standard RV, value so subjective I think you'd have a hard time determining the loss.
kfergiez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2018, 11:43 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Goodness! A stove top explosion. This is something I've never heard of.
I'm glad to hear everyone is OK.

I know you have worries about depreciation but your concerns need to be what caused the explosion and whether it is satisfactorily repaired. For them to replace the roof, it must have been one heck of an explosion!