Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-06-2020, 08:01 AM   #1
Mem

PDI

I’m new to purchasing a new RV. When shelter in place is over, I plan to begin.
My newbie or maybe dummy question is at what point do you have the PDI! after a down payment, after deal agreement. When you find the one you want? (Which I have).
Mem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 08:15 AM   #2

The PDI is when you take delivery..after you sign the sales agreement and temporary registration is placed on on the unit.
Old 04-06-2020, 08:32 AM   #3
Mem

So they have your money and you trust them to take care of all things needing attention.
Old 04-06-2020, 08:43 AM   #4
Mem

Not being sarcastic or difficult just want everything in mind. On just walk throughs trying to decide floor plan and brand, there were so many things just visually wrong it made me concerned about the things that have to work fully hooked up.
Thank you for your response.
Old 04-06-2020, 08:51 AM   #5

It is best to do the PDI before you sign papers or exchange any money. The dealer would be motivated to fix everything to clinch the deal. Much less motivated after they have your money.
As a new RV’er you may not be aware of all the negative issues with Camping World. If that is where you are considering purchasing your unit, be very careful.

2021 Jayco Class C model 27U
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2020, 08:55 AM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mem View Post
So they have your money and you trust them to take care of all things needing attention.
In a real world, that's a good idea. But dealers wont devote the time and expense to do a PDI without someone committed to buy.
Is it reasonable for a casual lookie-loo and tire kicker to demand a PDI before deciding to buy?
Old 04-06-2020, 09:10 AM   #7
Pickin', Campin', Mason

In my experience, all dealers are different.