Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2019, 11:21 AM   #1

PDI issue

So we are scheduled to pick up our RV this week. We originally told the dealer we would have our own inspector do the PDI (he's a friend & does it for a living). Unfortunately now he has broken a leg & can't get to it. I reached out to the dealer and asked if we could just pay for the PDI out of pocket as we've already signed the contract. I was really shocked when I was told they don't have any way to do that. Now I am legitimately worried about what the heck we may be getting into. This is a new rig that we are buying at a large Texas dealership, and it's about a 6 hour drive so I can't just pop in and ask someone in person. Should I go over the sales guy's head & ask for a manager? As a business owner, I never turn down the chance to offer a service to a buyer.
Outlandish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 11:38 AM   #2

PDI issue

Was the orig agreement that your inspection would take place at the dealer with access to power and water? If so I would just go through it using your bud’s checklist.

Another alternative that I would recommend is to go to a nearby campground and run through everything over a couple days. That would give you time to inspect everything.
2011 Starcraft 392BHUw/Andersen No-Sway

chaps2018 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 11:39 AM   #3

Im confused. I thought a PDI was done by the dealer for the new owner? It is a new unit under warranty and not a used unit? (where you are looking for hidden issues) I would be doing the walk through myself with the dealer so you can be shown the systems of rv. Why on earth would a PDI cost money?
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2019, 11:43 AM   #4
Georgia Rally Coordinator