Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-25-2021, 01:17 AM   #1

Title, Taxes and Fee and DMV registration etc other state purchase?

Hi,

I'm new to this, can someone help me out here. I live in Los Angeles California and I purchased a Geo Pro in Utah.

On the title it is register under Utah. Now I got trailer towed home. Is there any other paperwork I need to fill out? DMV to go to or any other fee to pay? I'm not sure how it work. Please advise what I need to know in order to get this title to me completely.

thank you
Old 02-25-2021, 08:48 AM   #2

To register, head to the DMV, or notary, and submit:
A Completed Application for Title or Registration (Form REG 343).
The Vehicle's Out-of-State Title.
The Vehicle's Out-of-State Registration.
Proof of Insurance, if applicable. When we bought our TT in NY we drove directly to a notary here in PA to register. All we did in NY was put our old TT plate on and drove directly to notary . Did not pay tax there or register the TT there. Living in Erie PA we are very close to Ohio and NY and bought vehicles from both states and do the same any time we do. Most states temp plates are just $25 if you do not have a current plate to attach to trailer or vehicle. Not sure if hanging an existing plate is legal until transfer, but we have done it a few times and one time bought a temp plate. If any applicable sales tax it should be paid in your state, not the purchase state.
Hensley Hitch
Cabinfever97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2021, 09:37 AM   #3

We bought ours 2 years ago in AZ. At that time I had to physically take the trailer to a CHP or DMV office to have the VIN checked. What a pain in a tight parking lot. Again, at that time I was required to pay the difference between AZ and CA registration plus the difference in sales tax. For your sake I hope you don’t actually live within the city of Los Angeles.