Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-12-2014, 05:14 PM   #1

Bad Radio Reception

I purchased a 2014 Solera recently. The radio will not pick up any stations out on the road. I have tried toggling between local and distance settings to no avail.
My dealer service manager tells me they will need to replace the back up camera and monitor because it is interfering with the radio. Hmmm, that's a whole different system so it doesn't make sense to me. Besides, that system is off unless I turn it on or when backing up.
Reception is OK in town, but get 10 miles away and there's no station that it picks up. Seems to me like the radio is stuck on "local", but I'm no electrical engineer.
Anyone else have this issue, and has it been resolved?
barnbnb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 05:47 PM   #2

I don't have this issue - but I'd look to see if there's an actual attachment to an antenna.

Other than that, is reception better on one band (AM or FM) than the other? That might be a clue to the problem as well.

Good luck!
DaveJordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 06:30 PM   #3

Like Davejordan said, sounds like you don't have an antenna hooked up. Either it is unplugged on the back of the radio or the coax/wire is broken to the antenna. Check the connection at the antenna also.
Camped 2016-71, 2017-33, 2018-29 booked
KT4W
BooBoo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2014, 07:27 PM   #4

The service manager at the dealer said they traced the connection to the antenna and it is connected. AM/FM/WB are equally weak.
My initial thought was it's not connected at the radio. Or the antenna cable has a screw through it somewhere, if that is possible, during assembly.