Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-07-2017, 01:37 PM   #1

Unhappy New LED Taillight Post

I want to start off by saying I have no electrical knowledge whats so ever. I have a 2010 FR Solera. All my running lights function properly. I am having problems with my taillight/turn signals. All the lights are LEDs. On drivers side the light in the middle taillight does not come except when you turn on the left turn signal. On the passenger side the two taillights come but they are not very bright as compared to the driver's side taillights. The right turn signals come on but they are not very bright as compared to the driver's side turn signals. Can someone provide helpful information in laymen terms.

Thanks,

Still learning this stuff.
alaska6580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 01:47 PM   #2

Most likely you have a bad ground somewhere.

Ground is the wire that goes from the light to the frame, as opposed to the power wire which comes from whatever switch on your vehicle sends the power to the light. When the ground is missing or not making good contact, the power sometimes goes back through another ground wire to another light, through that light backwards until it gets to a light has a good ground. That's why they are dim. I'd check the ground wires on the passenger side tail light.

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD
2009 Silverado 1500 Ext Cab, 5.3L, 4x4, 3.73
2016 Silverado 2500HD Dbl Cab, 6.0L 4x4, 4.10
rockfordroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2017, 03:04 PM   #3

I had a similar problem sometime ago and found a bad/parcialy blown fuse on the circuit board for the lights. On my 24R the board is to the rear of the water tank compartment.
Old 07-08-2017, 07:07 AM   #4

Do you remember which fuse it was on the circuit board? Do I need to disconnect all batteries before attempting to remove fuses?