Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2014, 12:05 PM   #1

Solera Tire Rotations - or not?

Looking for some experience here. I have 5,000 miles on my Solera and love it overall. I've read much on the tire pressure and blow-out and valve stem issues so I am rather blurry on the whole mess. I am new to dually rear wheels and had no idea they could be so troublesome.
Mine has rubber valve stems in the wheels and metal extensions. I plan to tie them to the wheels to avoid the blowout problem and will probably install the metal stems and TPMS upon rotation.
But then I am confused on rotations. I read that some rotate according to MB pattern and some do not. Some don't even rotate tires on the dually rears.
If I put metal valve stems so the inner tires can be maintained and monitored, then have them rotated - won't the stems have to be changed to the new inner wheels? Seems a bit excessive?
I'll stop and see what you guys with thousands of miles under your belts have to say on this issue.
I just want to be safe and trouble free as possible.

Thanks in advance for your comments.
Rich

Solera 24R - 2014
Life is Good - All is Well
richhop25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:32 PM   #2

There's a small hooked extension on the outer duel tire and the inside tire is straight out, so all that should be needed is to change the extension on the tires. I had almost 15000 on my before I had them rotated I had new valve stems put on at that time also. If you go to have metal valve stems put on make sure the tire company knows it's for a Mercedes sprinter as it takes a special valve stem to fit in the rim.
Old 08-06-2014, 01:28 PM   #3