Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2019, 09:48 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
2nd AC Unit on a 30amp Vibe 311RLS

New guy here.....

Just wondering if anyone has installed a 2nd ac unit in the bedroom. I do not have a vent in this area but wondering if the roof has been stubbed to place a vent in this area?

Thanks in advance
__________________

RuBright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:17 AM   #2
Coach
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Western PA
Posts: 667
I believe it's been done, but your 30amp service won't support 2 ac's plus other on board power draws. I believe folks who have made this upgrade wire in a separate 15 or 20 amp plug since those are usually available on most park pedestals. Unless you had the option of a 2nd ac/50 amp service upgrade on your rv, I doubt any prep work is laid for this on the roof.
__________________

__________________
Cut it 3 times and it's still too short...

2017 Sandpiper 381RBOK
2006 Ram 3500 Cummins Dually
valleyduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:25 AM   #3
Lacey's Spring, AL
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lacey's Spring, AL
Posts: 2,623
actually, you certainly 'can' operate two air conditioners within the 30amp shore power, but yes, you'll be limited to much of anything else you can also power at the same time, though your 12v items, lights, fans, etc., will work without worry of how 'much' power your have from Shore Power - only 120v powered devices and appliances are impacted.

We've successfully run both of our roof airs at the same time, along with tvs and receivers, AND the residential fridge, all while on 'regular' 30amp rv campground service.
Sometimes campground breakers can be old/worn and susceptible to 'early' tripping due to their age, but a new replacement 30amp breaker solves that problem.

You can either tackle your option of a second roof air conditioner by installing it yourself, and running the 120v wiring to the electrical panel along the ceiling/wall... or go with a interior air conditioner unit, which is portable, and plugs into your existing outlet. It may require a exhaust hose to the outside, but it's a simple option non-the-less. You can also decide to run an external extension cord for the second air unit for plugging into the campground pedestal's existing 20amp household plug, if one is available where you camp, moving the load from the 30amp limit and to it's own circuit.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:30 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,633
You've received some good advice about the 2nd A/C unit and the current limitations on a 30a service so I won't comment further on that.

I will address that if you don't have a vent in the area of where you would want to mount the 2nd A/C, the chances are slim that anything (framing or wiring) would be tucked away in the roof.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:38 AM   #5
Georgia Rally Coordinator
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 15,524
Unless the tt was ordered with 15000 btu ac chances are it is not prewired for the 2nd AC. Later RJD
__________________
2020 Shasta Phoenix SPF 27RKSS
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing. Traded 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 5
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 10:44 AM   #6
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
The 30-amp shore power from the pedestal might handle the load of two AC units...

But your in-trailer 30-amp won't handle it.
JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 12:08 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Thanks folks! Just the information I was looking for. I think I will contact FR to see if I can obtain a roofing BP to see if it's even possible to put a Vent in the area I'm wanting.

For power I was going to run a different 120 outlet through the side of the camper .

Thanks again
RuBright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 12:35 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
This link
is where I got the Idea for this upgrade
RuBright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 12:56 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
cavie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,788
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnD10 View Post
The 30-amp shore power from the pedestal might handle the load of two AC units...

But your in-trailer 30-amp won't handle it.
Ok. You gonna have to explain that to this 45-year electrician.
__________________
2011 Keystone Sprinter 323BHS
Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Retired Master Electrician.

I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 4,605
My 2018 Cherokee came equipped with dual AC on 30 amps. It runs through a PMS...Power Management System that controls the load by shedding circuits when the draw exceeds 30 amps. It ties into the Water Heater (electric side only), Refrigerator, Microwave and some of the 115 outlets. Only one AC will run at a time and it will shed power in a rotational basis to the other appliances as needed.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:21 PM   #11
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,901
Check the places you plan to use this as some parks have a 100A breaker upstream for every 3 sites. if you neighbors use this method also, you can trip the upstream breaker. These are usually locked so it will require park staff. I witnessed this happen last summer, the two neighbors had no power for 6hrs, Not happy campers.


Quote:
Originally Posted by RuBright View Post
Thanks folks! Just the information I was looking for. I think I will contact FR to see if I can obtain a roofing BP to see if it's even possible to put a Vent in the area I'm wanting.

For power I was going to run a different 120 outlet through the side of the camper .

Thanks again
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 01:56 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kalamazoo
Posts: 1,772
I would be carful taking advice that you can run to a/c units on 30 amp service. Just because they fire up and run doesn't mean you are not damaging them or hurting them with low voltage.
Kimber45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:21 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Euless, Texas
Posts: 115
Time to get a new 50 amp RV! Iím surprised the circuit breakers arenít tripping now when you turn on your microwave.
__________________
2016 Vibe 268RKS
2015 Chev 2500HD
Mewcasa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:36 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: North Judson Indiana
Posts: 47
This is why for 2019 Flagstaff upgraded most of its lineup to 50 amp. My 26RBWS is 50 amp along with being prewired for a second A/C in the bedroom.
__________________
USAF Retired
2019 Flagstaff 26RBWS
2018 GMC 3500 SLE
Msgtret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 02:40 PM   #15
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 11,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mewcasa View Post
Time to get a new 50 amp RV! I’m surprised the circuit breakers aren’t tripping now when you turn on your microwave.
I don't quite understand this statement or advice?

With every 30a R/V we've owned, running the A/C with the microwave has not been an issue. Even with the water heater on electric we successfully run the A/C and use the microwave along with all the other small 120v incidentals.

Sure, plug in a toaster, a heater or the DW using the blow drier and it can create a tripped breaker but thousands of folks are using 30a service R/Vs every day and not tripping breakers on a regular basis.

Can you run more continuous load on a 50a service?... we all know the answer to that one... sure... but is it necessary?... not that I can tell. I see no need to advise someone to rush out and get a new 50a R/V.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=83
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 04:12 PM   #16
Denver To Yuma In 90 Days
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Yuma, Arizona
Posts: 3,882
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
Ok. You gonna have to explain that to this 45-year electrician.
Because the 30-amp inside the trailer will pop if you look at it funny... 🤣
JohnD10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 04:25 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
A32Deuce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Posts: 8,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnD10 View Post
Because the 30-amp inside the trailer will pop if you look at it funny... 🤣
Sorry, not mine. Maybe time for you to change your inside breakers. They do go bad!
__________________
2012 SunSeeker 3100SS Toad-1962 Futura Average 100 + days camping
A32Deuce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:28 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,477
What's in the roof?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
I will address that if you don't have a vent in the area of where you would want to mount the 2nd A/C, the chances are slim that anything (framing or wiring) would be tucked away in the roof.
As it happens, I have the membrane and roof decking off the 2002 Nash 22 foot travel trailer right now.

There is framing in the roof: trusses crosswise on 24" centers. At the vents (and probably at the skylights and A/C), there are headers (cross-pieces) between the trusses.

There is wiring in the roof, including 12v for marker lights and vent fans. Some does run down the center. With care it would not be difficult to work around the wiring without accidentally cutting it. There's some 120v also, for a fluorescent lamp and for the air conditioner.

Not sure this 2002 trailer is representative of today's construction, but everything else in it seems to be the same, assuming an EPDM roof.

Larry
Larry-NC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:29 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Carlyss, Louisiana
Posts: 434
I own a Prime Time Crusader Lite, division of FR, that came equipped with 30 amp service and one 15000 BTU air conditioner. I added a second 15000 AC unit in our bedroom by using the opening for the existing vent. I did have to shore up the support around the inside of opening. I also had to run a separate 20 amp service line for this unit. I purchase a adapter that is 50 amp male that splits to two 30 amp female so that I now have two 30 amp power cords. The second unit has the ceiling controls so I did not have to change or run wiring for tying into existing thermostat. Running both AC units keep our 32 ft. 5th wheel cool even on those hot days here in the deep south.
Walholler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2019, 05:53 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Okeechobee Fl.
Posts: 108
Easy AC on 30 AMP

It is in fact easy to run 2 AC units on a 30 AMP cir if you have your AC units working with the EASY SART UNIT installed. I actually run everything on a Predator 3500 with juice to spare. It is the initial start of the AC compressor that draws the amps. EASY START slowly starts the compressor with 5 amps and builds it slowly to an operating 10 amps or so. https://www.microair.net/products/ea...nt=30176048267 and here is a great VIDEO on the system
__________________

RECONUSMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
vibe

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 AM.


×