Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2018, 12:19 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
alain h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 109
No AM station on my radio

Why is it that I can get FM stations no problem but absolutely no AM stations
Is their a fix I can do
We have a brand new Vibe 24rls
Thanks
__________________

alain h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 02:35 AM   #2
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 20,528
Neither our 2007 HTT or our current 2016 TT radios got good AM reception.
One was a Concertone and the newer one is a Jensen.
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 07:10 AM   #3
Site Team
 
KyDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 8,603
Are there still AM station???
A wild guess-- some receivers have 2 separate antenna connections. One is for
AM and another for FM. It's possible your AM connection has nothing attached to it?
__________________
Peace!
Dan & Rita D
2017 Nissan Titan 5.6L King cab 4wd
1999 Suzuki Intruder Motorcycle
Blue Ox WD hitch

Camping days 2010-53, 2011-47, 2012-41, 2013-41, 2014-31, 2015-40, 2016-44, 2017-63, 2018-75, 2019-32, 2020-35
KyDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 07:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 5,736
I was going to say the best way to get AM stations is go back in time to the 1960s.................... My car can not get them very well either....... At home with a good radio I get 2-3 on a good day.

Not trying to be smart but two things the radios and antennas in campers are cheap at best, but can you receive AM stations on another Radio ??? if not it is not the camper.


__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 07:29 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 20
Mine doesn't get them either and I have the magnadyne (????)I need to dig back there and see what's going on.
__________________
2017 Vibe Extreme lite 21FBS
2008 Silverado 2500 6.6 diesel
Dan1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:48 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 296
We’ve had two different radios in two different rigs, no AM, hardly any FM either....
__________________
2016 Flagstaff 27VRL with overloaded tires from factory
2015 Chevy Silverado
Paul GA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:08 AM   #7
Coach
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Western PA
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by KyDan View Post
Are there still AM station???
A wild guess-- some receivers have 2 separate antenna connections. One is for
AM and another for FM. It's possible your AM connection has nothing attached to it?
This in concert with AM not having the transmission range of FM and is much easier interfered with by other over the air signals.
__________________
Cut it 3 times and it's still too short...

2017 Sandpiper 381RBOK
2006 Ram 3500 Cummins Dually
valleyduo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: IL
Posts: 884
Hi,

I greatly improved AM reception by clipping (alligator clip) a dangling piece of 6' copper wire to the stubby outside antenna on my Silverback.

FWIW.

Rich Phillips
__________________
Rich Phillips
2019 K-2500 Duramax Crew Cab
2014 Silverback 33RL
richp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:36 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
DAISY BOYKIN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: SUNSHINE STATE
Posts: 1,740
Send a message via Skype™ to DAISY BOYKIN
No am stations

I will try to explain this again, Two things can cause poor AM/FM radio
station reception.


1. Check to see if the antenna cable (JACK) is plugged into the radio case.

2. No ground on radio case, the case has to have a ground connected to Chassis or frame of what it is mounted in for the antenna to work properly.
A lot of times the AM/FM antennas are isolated from grounding by the
installer not knowing that installing the antenna in fiberglass/ABS/plastic
thus does not make a ground connection.

How do I know this, 28 Years of selling, servicing, installing AM/FM radio
systems in all kinds of installations.

30 Years of selling, servicing, Installing TWO-WAY communications!
__________________
Sid, Lois & HRH MISSY Terrible 3s SHIH TZU
2011 ROCKWOOD 8285 WS
2014 F-250 KING RANCH PS 6.7L/SWD/6R140/BFT
TST Truck System Technologies TM-507SE
DAYS CAMPED 2018 60 DAYS
DAISY BOYKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: IL
Posts: 884
Hi Daisy,

I am always open to learning, so if you could help me a little, that would be great.

How can I check the mass of wires in the back of my radio to ascertain if it is properly grounded? My antenna is mounted in fiberglass, but I have checked to be sure the antenna lead is firmly plugged in.

And if it is not grounded properly, what should I ground it to? Sounds stupid to ask, but I don't want to assume tapping into the power ground wire is all that has to be done.

Thanks.

Rich Phillips
__________________
Rich Phillips
2019 K-2500 Duramax Crew Cab
2014 Silverback 33RL
richp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 10:11 AM   #11
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 10,880
The FM and AM antenna are two separate items. Check the back of the radio. The AM antenna is usually a single wire attached to the back of the radio. It is delivered coiled up with a twist tie. Make sure the ant is extended. It can be hanging down or tied up, but needs to be uncoiled.
The FM antenna is generally a coax that plugs into the radio. In many cases it is connected to the splitter from the roof top TV antenna.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 10:25 AM   #12
SPRING IS COMING!!!
 
BriaBeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Southern Illissouri
Posts: 576
I have the same problem with our TT.


We have the el cheapo "Drive" entertainment system.


I squawked the issue when we took our camper in earlier this month for its "Forever warranty" inspection. They took me back in the shop, inside a big metal building, and the AM was working. Not very well, but it was working, very marginally picking up a couple of stations. The guys there said "And this is inside a metal building... nothign wrong with it. ((You're Nuts))" Got it back home, and same as before... absolutely nothing but static.


Moral of the story: Build yourself a big metal building to put your camper in anywhere you go, and your AM stations will come in just fine.


__________________
Brian & Becky
__________________________________

2018 Avenger ATI 27RBS, pushing a 2002 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Duramax w/ Allison 1000


BriaBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 01:02 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
rracer5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Full Timing It
Posts: 2,624
The Jensen radio on my first Wildwood TT had a separate antenna on the roof.

The Jensen radio on my second Prime Time Lacrosse had a coax cable connected to an adapter which apparently used the omni-directional Tv antenna for reception.

But, the biggest issue is, good connections and solid grounding as mentioned earlier. Sometimes, you just have to run your own ground wire.
__________________
"PT Crew Members Since 9/2010"
2011 RAM 2500 HD 6.7L CTD Crew
2014 Sanibel 3250
rracer5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 05:36 PM   #14
Senior Senior Member
 
raytwntrvlr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 272
We get good to very good FM reception but zero on the AM side. I carry a nice portable for that plus we have a Sirius portable radio that gets everything we need. The Sirius is great in that we can use it in our TV as well.
__________________
2015 Flagstaff Super V 26VFKSS Emerald
raytwntrvlr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 05:45 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
alain h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 109
I have great reception for the FM stations but nothing for AM a have a spare radio work just fine on AM
Will have to drop the radios in the spring and have a look
alain h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:09 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
justpassinthru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 180
Radio in TT

Hi folks, have a question, i have a travel trailer and removed the screws from the radio and when i pulled it out i saw that the radio antenna was rolled up and with i tie rap. What can i do to get more fm stations and clarity without installing a roof or any sort of outside antenna? Any ideas someone has used? That will receive better reception Thanks looking forward to all suggestions. Jim M
justpassinthru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:16 PM   #17
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 13,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by justpassinthru View Post
Hi folks, have a question, i have a travel trailer and removed the screws from the radio and when i pulled it out i saw that the radio antenna was rolled up and with i tie rap. What can i do to get more fm stations and clarity without installing a roof or any sort of outside antenna? Any ideas someone has used? That will receive better reception Thanks looking forward to all suggestions. Jim M
See post #11. Apparently, it's the AM antenna that's coiled up. Uncle Gene's FM antenna was almost coax-size and not coiled it - it just wasn't plugged into his radio.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 = 14; booked = 14
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 08:45 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Florida
Posts: 383
Quote:
Originally Posted by alain h View Post
Why is it that I can get FM stations no problem but absolutely no AM stations
Is their a fix I can do
We have a brand new Vibe 24rls
Thanks
What works for us is to turn OFF all LED lights. After we do that we can get AM stations. FM doesn't seem to be a problem.
__________________
OldBob

I may be old but I'm trying, very trying.
2015 RAM 1500 - EcoDiesel
Rockwood Ultra V 2715VS
OldBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:27 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Mslaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 182
Are you parked under a bridge?
I have a friend that does AM talk radio. While traveling any time we go under a bridge or through a tunnel, all you here is static.
Mslaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2018, 09:40 PM   #20
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 20,528
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mslaman View Post
Are you parked under a bridge?
I have a friend that does AM talk radio. While traveling any time we go under a bridge or through a tunnel, all you here is static.
How's does this help the OP?
__________________

__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


×