Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2011, 03:52 PM   #1

A small heater while in winter storage?

I know some people use a small heater or a drop light to heat the interior of their trailers while in winter storage.

Now, I'm relatively new to this but I do understand it's for moisture issues.

I was planning to just leave two vents open on the roof over winter. that way, the interior is always equalized with the exterior in temperature and humidity. I've got max air II vents over the factory roof vents, so snow shouldn't be an issue. Even if it is, it'll only be a wisp and won't melt with the interior cold.

The water system is all plumbing antifreeze. The sinks, the shower the outside shower, all of it. Water tank is drained so no issues there either.

Anyone care to comment on the heater vs open vent?

I can't see closing the trailer up tight and heating the interior being a better way to do it...

2011 Flagstaff Classic Superlight 831RLBSS "Atrium slide"
Husky Centerline Hitch
2016 Ford F-150 EcoBoost SuperCrew, Lariat Sport, Max Tow package
great white is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 04:12 PM   #2

No need to use an electric heater inside the trailer for winter. It is just a waste of money and it will cause damages to your trailer with the condensation. I have never seen anybody leaving a heater inside turned on for winter. Make sure that the snow does not get inside the trailer with your vents opened during winter. For my part I dont leave any vent opened for winter.
capucine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:55 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus

My trailer stays unheated UNLESS the temperatures get down around 10 or lower. I will run my furnace then at the lowest setting to keep the vinyl floor from shrinking and possible cracking.

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS