Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2022, 11:40 AM   #1

Question Ark Encounter campsite

Hi all -
Looking to visit the Ark Encounter in Williamstown KY and was wondering if anyone can recommend a nice campground within a half hour's drive of the Ark? Also, I'm coming from the East and will be travelling down Rt 70 in PA. Is this a good highway? I've never been on it.
Thanks much for your input.
mgmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2022, 06:44 PM   #2

You will love the Ark. Be sure and stop at the restaurant on your way out. Awesome food. Wife and I were there couple of years ago. Closest one is Dry Ridge on I75. However I do not recommend as it backs up to the interstate and there are not enough ear plugs in a package to muffle the noise. And yes, we found that out the hard way. There is one north and one south of Dry Ridge but I have no knowledge of either. Hope this helps.

Sent from my SM-A515U using Forest River Forums mobile app
hshaynes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2022, 11:15 PM   #3

Kentucky Horse Park has a large Campground in Lexington, just over 1/2 hour away. Big Bone Lick state park is right at 1/2 hour away. It's a nice campground but some of the sites are small. Whispering Hills Campground near Georgetown. I've never camped there but have heard it's nice,

Sent from my SM-T510 using Forest River Forums mobile app
dnmatt7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2022, 06:33 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgmoses View Post
Hi all -

Looking to visit the Ark Encounter in Williamstown KY and was wondering if anyone can recommend a nice campground within a half hour's drive of the Ark? Also, I'm coming from the East and will be travelling down Rt 70 in PA. Is this a good highway? I've never been on it.

Thanks much for your input.

Not sure on 70 through PA as we only travel it to south of Pittsburgh normally from Ohio.