Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-17-2021, 02:00 PM   #1

Be prepared for emergencies, especially when solo'ing

I've been dragging my TT around solo for about 9 months now. Not full time but I do have 15,000 miles on it already having driven through and/or stayed in 21 states so far.

Six weeks ago was my first emergency and it was a ways from help. In TN on the shoulder of an offramp three fingers on my dominant hand were smashed in the truck door breaking one and ripping its nail off from the cuticle side.

Luckily I knew where my first aid kit was and I could bandage myself fairly quickly to stop the bleeding and stabilize the fracture. I then looked for urgent cares and ERs and the closest was 25 miles away. Driving myself there was the longest 25 miles in a long time. Shock setting in and having to navigate a good size city under stress with a 2500 crew cab truck and even my small 21ft trailer was tougher than I expected. Red lights suck!

With my hand splinted at the ER my trip was cut short as I needed to head home back to CA to follow up with my doctors.

Moral of the story, know where your first aid kit is at and know how to do render aid on yourself if needed. Know how to search for care and think through various scenarios and how you can manage them.

Renogy bits: 3000W Inverter/Charger, 400Ah LiFePo4, 40A DC-to-DC
Rich Solar bits: 400W of panels, 40A MPPT
Misc bits: LevelMatePro+, SolidRemote based wireless controlled LED storage lighting
jbflag21ds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2021, 03:15 PM   #2

Your point is very valid. Carry a well equipped First Aid Kit (Not just a box of Band Aids) and keep it handy.

Since I too "solo camp" and do so often in very remote areas, I went one step further. I purchased a Garmin InReach Mini. Costs me $14 per month after the initial purchase.