Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2012, 04:05 PM   #1

Buying from outer state

Hello!

Newbie here.

Thinking about driving across country in the near future with the wife and son to experience this wonderful land. At the same time, stop by one of the dealerships and buy a travel trailer.

Interested in something like the 2306 or 1809S model. I currently have a 15 feet travel trailer Funfinder.

How difficult would it be for such a transaction for outer state purchase? People buy cars from outer states all the time and the dealership calculates tax at the buyer's resident state bracket, etc. I assume the travel trailer is the same in terms of paperwork. Talked to RV Wholesaler and they told me its really easy. They told me to put a 1k deposit, pick up the trailer and pay the quoted price plus doc fees of around $300 and 6% tax upfront. The remainder of the tax pay at my home state (Los Angeles County is 8.75% less the 6%).

I am currently in Southern California and everything here is expensive. The idea of experiencing America and buying a new trailer for less is intriguing.

I currently have a new 2012 Tacoma Double Cab V6 (tow rated at 6400lbs).

Thanks for your feedback.

Tntrac
tntrac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2012, 04:32 PM   #2
Site Team

we were also tired of the pricing ripoffs that occur out here on RVs made in the Midwest.

we ended buying from a dealer in Chicago and going there and back with our new Rockwood Roo.
even after trip costs, we still saved $4000 over the lowest price out here, for the same exact trailer.
FR found other local FR and non-FR dealers that were happy to do the warranty work.

personally, your v-6 Taco is going to really limit what you buy and if you're planning on seeing the country, your choices might get real cramped after awhile.