RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-18-2018, 09:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Champion 3400 Inverter - Grounding Needed?

Quick question for everyone. Do I need to ground the genny when running? It is not quite clear to me if I have to. Thanks!
ThreeDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 11:10 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeDogs View Post
Quick question for everyone. Do I need to ground the genny when running? It is not quite clear to me if I have to. Thanks!
If you have a EMS in line then yes, you have to have a bonded ground, otherwise your EMS will show an opened ground, easy enough to do with a grounding plug. Just get a plug end and jumper the ground to the neutral screw and plug it in the 110. There is a good y-tube on how to do it. I had to due it to my predator invertor generator. Now the EMS shows good. If you don't have a EMS it shouldn't need it. I think that answers your question.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 01:51 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
EMS?
ThreeDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 02:09 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeDogs View Post
EMS?
That's an acronym for Electrical Management System like these:

Progressive Industries, Inc. | Rv Surge Protection

Inverter type generators and some contractor grade types have what is called a floating neutral. The neutral and the ground are not bonded together like they are at a typical house panel. If you have an EMS, one of the things it is looking for, is the ground and neutral to be bonded together...but they aren't in many RV'er preferred generators....so the EMS will not allow power to the RV.

Mike Sokol (who is a valued member of our forums) explains this in much detail at his site here, as well as how to make a simple ground-neutral bonding plug, to get by the EMS.

Generator Ground-Neutral Bonding | No~Shock~Zone

Here is also one of Mike's great videos on this subject. Even though you may not have an EMS currently, it's good info to know in case you do get one later as Glenn was suggesting.

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I wonder what went off in Thomas Edison's head before he invented the light bulb.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2018, 03:06 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Thanks. Got it now.
ThreeDogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2018, 03:26 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 40
Always a good idea to bond back to the frame.
tgold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2018, 11:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThreeDogs View Post
Quick question for everyone. Do I need to ground the genny when running? It is not quite clear to me if I have to. Thanks!
Its always a good idea to hammer a grounding rod into the ground and attach it via wire to the threaded ground terminal on the generator.

However, 99.999999% of people, including myself, don't do this. I make it a point not to touch my generator while it is running incase of an issue that can cause it to shock me.
Skyliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:19 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
tuckerdog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 689
A lot of new RV owners since this was posted. Could save some headaches for those that are unaware. So bringing it back up.

Tuckerdog1
__________________

2016 RAM 2500 Cummins SLT Lone Star 4X4 LB
2016 Windjammer 3029W Platinum
I'm not an expert. But I play one on the internet.
You live & learn or you don't live long.
Remember those that died for us. And remember who killed them.
tuckerdog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckerdog1 View Post
A lot of new RV owners since this was posted. Could save some headaches for those that are unaware. So bringing it back up.

Tuckerdog1
bring what back up? The grounding plug to use with a EMS system or what? Donít understand what you are suggesting.
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 05:45 PM   #10
PhD, Common Sense
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Fairborn, OH
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by tuckerdog1 View Post
A lot of new RV owners since this was posted. Could save some headaches for those that are unaware. So bringing it back up.

Tuckerdog1
I recently started using a generator with an EMS. I was bothered by the open ground notification. After some research, I was satisfied that I needed a bonding plug and bought one from Amazon.

Had I seen this thread sooner, it would have saved me about an hour of research.

Thank you for you desire to help others.

Here is a question, though: If I run a pair of generators in parallel, I assume I need to attach a single bonding plug to only one of the generators?

OK, another question: If I use a generator to run a single home appliance during a power failure, I should use a grounding plug in that generator?
eye95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2020, 06:03 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
tuckerdog1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Texas
Posts: 689
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witch Doctor View Post
bring what back up? The grounding plug to use with a EMS system or what? Donít understand what you are suggesting.
Exactly what Eye95 replied. This is something I was completely unaware of. Had I hooked up my generator & my EMS was giving an error code, I'd be perplexed. Seemed like good info to pass along.

Tuckerdog1
__________________

2016 RAM 2500 Cummins SLT Lone Star 4X4 LB
2016 Windjammer 3029W Platinum
I'm not an expert. But I play one on the internet.
You live & learn or you don't live long.
Remember those that died for us. And remember who killed them.
tuckerdog1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 03:36 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,275
Quote:
Originally Posted by eye95 View Post
I recently started using a generator with an EMS. I was bothered by the open ground notification. After some research, I was satisfied that I needed a bonding plug and bought one from Amazon.

Had I seen this thread sooner, it would have saved me about an hour of research.

Thank you for you desire to help others.

Here is a question, though: If I run a pair of generators in parallel, I assume I need to attach a single bonding plug to only one of the generators?

OK, another question: If I use a generator to run a single home appliance during a power failure, I should use a grounding plug in that generator?
only need it for the EMS system and I use to use 1 plug in each when hooked together, you can also wire one up yourself just buy a plug at ACE. There is a ytube on it that shows you how to make one, also you could do a search on the forum, it was about 5 years ago when there where big discussions on it.
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 04:59 AM   #13
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 24,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by Witch Doctor View Post
only need it for the EMS system and I use to use 1 plug in each when hooked together, you can also wire one up yourself just buy a plug at ACE. There is a ytube on it that shows you how to make one, also you could do a search on the forum, it was about 5 years ago when there where big discussions on it.

The link provided above in post #4 to Mike Sokols "No Shock Zone" shows how to make the ground/neutral bonding plug.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

I wonder what went off in Thomas Edison's head before he invented the light bulb.
wmtire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2020, 09:37 AM   #14
Just as confused as you
 
Scrapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: south central Wisconsin
Posts: 4,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyliner View Post
Its always a good idea to hammer a grounding rod into the ground and attach it via wire to the threaded ground terminal on the generator.

However, 99.999999% of people, including myself, don't do this. I make it a point not to touch my generator while it is running incase of an issue that can cause it to shock me.
Who's going to drive a 10' or longer copper plated 1/2" or 3/4" rod in the ground everywhere they camp? The reason for the rod needing to be at least 10' long is the amount of moisture in the soil needed for good conduction.
__________________
Richard & Jill
2014 Flagstaff 832IKBS Classic Super Lite
2018 Silverado 1500 Crew Cab Z71 4WD All Star Edition
Camping since 1989
Car Shredder Op/Tech, Scrap Metal Recycling - retired
I deserve hazard pay when camping with my relatives.
Scrapper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07 AM.