Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2019, 08:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brevard NC
Posts: 70
Coleman Mack Thermostat

I want to swap out my analog thermostat for a digital unit. I have seen it discussed on the forum but can't find the link.
It looks like a simple job to me as long as I get the correct thermostat.
BTW I have a 2015 flagstaff.

Thanks
__________________
Days camped, 2005 26, 2006 29, 2007 41, 2008 41, 2009 34, 2010 54, 2011 39, 2012 36, 2013 47, 2014 44, 2015 39, 2016 45 2017 24 so far...
larrybessette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,824
Youtube is your friend. Follow the Youtube directions. Not the wiring directions that come with the new T-stat. You need a battery operated Honeywell t-stat.

here is one. Honeywell is about $30.00 cheaper than the Coleman Mack replacement. I don't use low seed either. I find it quiet with the dump vents closed.

cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: NJ
Posts: 368
Digital Coleman T-Stat

This was a wire for wire easy swap for me. My unit did not have the heat pump however, yours may.
__________________
2019 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV
2019 F-150 3.5 EB SCREW Max Tow - 1797 payload
s1njin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 08:57 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ejs4029's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Denver, NC
Posts: 1,477
If you want to stay with a Coleman you can get this one it's a wire for wire switch over very easy to do. This is the one I purchased and it works great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	137
Size:	187.9 KB
ID:	215118  
__________________
2015 Ram 2500 CTD,CC,SB,4x4
2016 Rockwood 2703 Emerald Edition
Husky CenterLine TS Hitch
TST 507 TPMS
Progressive Industries EMS-PT30C
Ejs4029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 11:21 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Brevard NC
Posts: 70
Coleman thermostat

Thanks. Coleman unit on the way.
I decided to install the Coleman because I do use the hi /lo function at night.
__________________
Days camped, 2005 26, 2006 29, 2007 41, 2008 41, 2009 34, 2010 54, 2011 39, 2012 36, 2013 47, 2014 44, 2015 39, 2016 45 2017 24 so far...
larrybessette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2019, 03:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RangeMaggotBob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Somewhere in the Ozarks...
Posts: 888
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs4029 View Post
If you want to stay with a Coleman you can get this one it's a wire for wire switch over very easy to do. This is the one I purchased and it works great.
That's the one. Did it ourselves recently. Like Larry said- YouTube. For everything!
__________________
2015 Forest River Rockwood Signature Series Ultra Lite 8289WS w/Diamond pkg.
2014 RAM CTD 6.7 Tradesman 4WD Auto Crew Cab Long Bed
Honda eu2000i generators
And new to our family: Daisy May, the Golden Doodle wonderdog!
RangeMaggotBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2019, 08:55 AM   #7
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,885
I have swapped the thermostat with this exact one on our last 2 trailers, works so much better and much less variance in temps. One member on the forum suggested that while you have the old thermostat removed fill the cavity in the wall with a bit of fiberglass insulation. The wall cavities, depending where your thermostat is located, can get very warm or cold depending on time of year. Just feel inside your cupboards on a very hot day to see how warm it is there. The trapped heat or cold in that wall coming from the sizeable hole they sometimes make to run the wiring, could fool your thermostat's ability to read ambient air temps, thereby throwing it off. Made sense to me so I did just that. Anything to help the thermostat be as accurate as possible just helps with making the trailer more comfortable. Thermostat you ordered is much better than the factory one and has a much smaller temperature variance for cycling.
You may also want to tape the wires together once the old one is removed to prevent any wires from slipping down the hole in the wall.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 12:20 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Can these be set to not run for, say, two weeks and then come on? We use our rv every other weekend and would like to have it cool when we get here, but we don't have wifi here.
Dave Caddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2019, 06:46 PM   #9
WFD
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,885
Not the one pictured in the previous post. It's not programmable, It's simply a digital thermostat with a much smaller variance in temps for cycling on an off then the factory installed analog thermostat.
__________________
2016 Chevy Silverado 2500 Duramax
2016 Rockwood 8289WS, Diamond Pkg.
WFD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:28 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
campitout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Runnells, Iowa
Posts: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ejs4029 View Post
If you want to stay with a Coleman you can get this one it's a wire for wire switch over very easy to do. This is the one I purchased and it works great.

I have a 2019 2109S and switched out the Analog stat for a Coleman Mack digital. While removing the old stat from the wall I was pulling the wires and the red one came out not hooked up. Hooked all others color for color but there was a brown one coming from the wall that had a connector on it but no other wire. Stat did not work until I hooked the red to the brown and then it worked. I noticed that all others who have traded the Analog for Digital have not mentioned this. Wondering?
__________________
campitout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 03:29 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
campitout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Runnells, Iowa
Posts: 18
I have a 2019 2109S and switched out the Analog stat for a Coleman Mack digital. While removing the old stat from the wall I was pulling the wires and the red one came out not hooked up. Hooked all others color for color but there was a brown one coming from the wall that had a connector on it but no other wire. Stat did not work until I hooked the red to the brown and then it worked. I noticed that all others who have traded the Analog for Digital have not mentioned this. Wondering?
__________________
campitout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2019, 11:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
SailorSam20500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 3,305
I took a pic of my wires before making my swap. Here is what I had...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20170912_163027.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	174.0 KB
ID:	219289  
__________________
Al
Save the Earth. Itís the only known planet with Beer.
There are times where my greatest accomplishment is keeping my mouth shut...

S.E. Mich. Flagstaff 26FKWS / 2019 F-150 3.5 EcoBoost SCrew Propride
SailorSam20500 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 07:42 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,267
Quote:
Originally Posted by campitout View Post
I have a 2019 2109S and switched out the Analog stat for a Coleman Mack digital. While removing the old stat from the wall I was pulling the wires and the red one came out not hooked up. Hooked all others color for color but there was a brown one coming from the wall that had a connector on it but no other wire. Stat did not work until I hooked the red to the brown and then it worked. I noticed that all others who have traded the Analog for Digital have not mentioned this. Wondering?


Sometimes they use two different colors of wire, I would think that your brown was long enough to supply the 12 volt so they didn’t connect the red just used the brown, as you can see Sailor Sams photo his brown was hooked to the red. Everyone should do as Sam did before removing any wires to take a picture. No one should ever trust normal color codes, you never know how these people spliced something in. It’s good that you figured it out, most times they don’t do that, but as you can see they did do it on Sams. Hard to say what happened the red might have always been hooked to the brown and with a bad connection it could have pulled out when taking the old stat off I have seen alot of bad crimps also. We had a whole thread that talked about bad crimps and connectors that come out of the factory about a year or two ago.
__________________
Coachmen M/H
Concord
2018 / 300 DSC

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 01:54 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
campitout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Runnells, Iowa
Posts: 18
Thanks, because the red one was not connected when I pulled the wires out of the wall it must have come loose on the way out. The other connections were not the greatest either as I pulled two other stat wires out of the connectors with just a slight tug. After connecting the red and brown together all worked great.Thanks for your reply and the pics
__________________
campitout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2019, 09:53 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 63
You could use a volt meter to check to see if the brown wire has voltage before hooking thermostat.
Malojeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
coleman, thermostat

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 PM.