Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-28-2020, 05:32 PM   #1

Complete newbie -- with a few newbie questions (free beer!)

I grew up with an RV, but admittedly never paid much attention to how things were run.

My father bought a Sunseeker by Forest River last year and barely used it. I asked him if my wife and I could use it this summer, and he agreed. Unfortunately, when we asked him for the tour of the vehicle, he wasn't quite sure how a lot of things worked. I took down what I could from him, and I watched some videos, but I still have some areas where I am hazy.

If anyone could provide some insight on these, I would be forever grateful...and I'll gladly provide all the free beer and food you can handle should our paths ever meet!:
1. If the vehicle is parked (not plugged in, no generator on), will the toilet work?

2. We are staying in the driveway of a friend's beach house this weekend. I am a bit hazy on what tasks will require us to use the generator, and which can be done without it.

3. Likewise, we are a bit hazy on when to run the pump --- and if it can be done without the vehicle plugged in or the generator running.

4. Overall, we are concerned that we will run out the battery. We have the main power switch on because, as far as we can tell, the refrigerator won't run without it (even though I think the fridge runs on propane?).

5. Is there anything else a newbie should know?

Thank you in advance!!!! If any of you are in New Jersey (or passing by), the next beer is on us!

John
rutgers1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2020, 05:56 PM   #2
Site Team

1. The toilet requires water pressure to work, just like at home. So you have to be hooked up to city water or run the water pump to use water from the FW tank.