Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-04-2010, 08:25 PM   #1

Cover or not to cover rv for winter

I am new to the rv world and was wondering if I should cover my trailer with a tarp for the winter. Also, does anyone have any input in regards to the rv covers they sell aftremarket?
Jeff98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:30 PM   #2

If you keep it covered it will look as good in the spring as it did when you put it away. I never covered our first trailer and found spring cleaning a real chore. I purchased a cover with our last trailer and only had to clean it one spring; the spring after the winter I did not put on the cover.

Mike
MikeA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:10 PM   #3

Here's what I found on Prime Time's web site:

Q- Should I cover my RV in the winter?
Storing your RV under a roof type cover or within a building when the RV will not be used for an extended period of time is always a good idea when this option is available to you.

When you must store your RV outdoors during periods of non-use you also have the option of using a temporary cover that is draped over the RV, then fastened onto the RV tightly. Many of these covers have a DuP ont TTY® top or roof panel and polypropylene side panels.

Many RV owners prefer to cover their RV’s with the drape-over style covers to protect the surfaces and finish from UV breakdown, dirt, leaves, birds and other airborne contaminates. On the other hand, many RV owners feel that to cover an RV with the drape-over style covers may lead to chafing and that chafing can lead to rubbing the decals off and other finishes. In our opinion we would rather have the RV covered than exposed to the outdoor elements.

FAQ Link: Prime Time Manufacturing, Manufacturers of travel trailers and fifth wheels
grhodes50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 11:17 PM   #4