Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2021, 11:35 AM   #1
Rui

Crazy Hack or it just might work?

Hello FR friends...

I had a crazy thought and wondered if anyone's done the same.... bear with me... I'm new to the trailer world so am not sure what is do-able.... But I am pretty handy with plenty of outdoor experience...so here goes....

Winterizing the trailer.
Trailer is in trailer-park, so it'll be outdoors for the winter - Muskoka, Ontario area.
I intend on purchasing a cover for it. I've researched pro's and con's etc...

Here's my idea for a winter protection hack....
Foam tiles - like the ones used for gym/garage/kids' floors. 2x2 squares...
On rooftop, placed only, not glued or anything like that.... Under the cover.

I figure since the squares interlock, they'll support each other and be reasonably stable whilst UNDER the cover, especially if I add a couple of extra straps over top of the cover....

My strategy is to protect the roof from falling debris, branches, items that could poke a whole if fallen on rooftop...

Thoughts? Mold issues? Am I insane?
Rui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 12:07 PM   #2

Sounds perfectly logical to me for piece of mind.
The mold issue might be something to look at, the covers need to breath so its not water tight. You might want to put a 1"x1"x8" strip of wood under the foam to let air flow

So its Roof, 1x1, Foam, Cover
2019 57:2020 20:2021 30 [/B]
robo44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 12:13 PM   #3

Seems like it would be heavy.
Capacitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2021, 12:54 PM   #4
Rui

hmmmm good food for thought.

I considered the weight....but figured the foam pads spread out over the area wouldn't be such a load....
I like the option of 1"x1" for breathing.... maybe a non-wood option might be available... Don't think it could be PVC as it would roll around...
Old 09-01-2021, 01:19 PM   #5

Quote: