RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 01-21-2021, 01:42 PM   #1

Dehumidifier

Im new to the rv world. How important is a dehumidifier? Is it a must have and if so any recommendations. I live in Oklahoma and currently staying in it full time
Jchandler909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 02:18 PM   #2
Boss Ox & Drovergirl

I used my camper as my second home during my last 6 years of my working life; 250 miles from our home.
I would say YES, a dehumidifier is a must have.
Living in your camper will generate a lot of moisture, everything from cooking, showering and washing, to just plain moisture in the air, condensation in wet and winter months from the temperature changes. And just sleeping and living you generate a lot of moisture from just breathing!
Using the propane stove and cooking seemed to be the biggest contributors for me, the bathroom has an exhaust fan, but still gets plenty of moisture especially in cooler weather.

We have a small counter top dehumidifier running all the time and an assortment of damp-rids (various sizes from the tub to hang in the closet sizes) in the bathroom, living area, kitchen area, and bedroom.
Try to keep wet clothes and shoes (i.e. raincoats, umbrellas, boots, wet towels and wash cloths, dish rags, etc.) outside as much as possible to dry.
Open windows and use a small fan to circulate air when it's warm and sunny enough (don't get that here in the winter too much in the snow belt!).

Moisture can not only warp cabinets and floors, but it is a major contributor to mold and mildew in cabinets and on woodwork.
1992 Goldwing Aspencade
oxcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 02:20 PM   #3

Thanks for the feed back.
Jchandler909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2021, 02:24 PM   #4
Boss Ox & Drovergirl

We have the EVA-DRY EVD1100
[url]https://www.eva-dry.com/product/edv-1100-petite-dehumidifier
Attached Thumbnails