Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 05:40 PM   #1
Member
 
bush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 41
direct tv setups

i have direct tv at home and want to use it with my RV. i was was planing to use the receiver from the bedroom in the RV. a HR24. i have a tripod and a round 18'' inch dish and have tried to get signal with this setup with no luck. my home setup has the swm setup with slimline dish.

will this combo work?
if not what do i need to make it work? a slimline dish?
__________________
2011 puma unleashed 298fqu toyhauler.
hauling a 2012 polaris RZRS
pulled by a 2006 chevy 3500 drw 4x4 duramax lbz
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 05:45 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
assuming you have have the azimuth and skew set right for your area
and the unit is LEVEL you should be able to point you dish with a compass or a smart phone with a compass app .

I believe I have to point mine at 118 so I set my phone level on the ground and point it at 118 then I mirror the satellite and have signal with 20 seconds.


do you at least get the setup page on your tv ?
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 06:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
I believe if your home system is SWM (single coax from the dish), you will have to reset your sat setup to "multiswitch" in order to use the 18" dish.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 167
You may have to set up the receiver for the 18" dish instead of the slimline setup as it is now.
__________________
Ed & Laureen
2005 F-250 4X4 SD 6.0 Powerstroke
2009 Cherokee Wolf Pack 285wp (the side door ramp toy hauler)
nailit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:34 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,499
Oh yeah I almost forgot why I DON'T have direct tv.
Dish way more less complicated !
He he that's funny"way more less"
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,363
I have the same problem. Do I need to hook up all 4 wires at the LBN to a splitter? If I hook up to my home dish everything works fine. Any help out their?
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 02:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Napa Valley, CA
Posts: 504
As said above, I think you have to reset your receiver to "18 round dish" and "multiswitch" from when using the small portable dish. Then switch back again to "swm" and "slimline" house setup when connected to the house dish.
Big Vic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 627
If you are using the 18" non hi def dish I think you also have to remove the filters (small black rectangular) from the line.

f1100turbo
i have set up my own directv system since i start subscribing in 1999, with the exception of the latest hi def, so it really isn' that hard. Dish just doesn't have some of the channels I like.
Filthy Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 07:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by Filthy Beast View Post
If you are using the 18" non hi def dish I think you also have to remove the filters (small black rectangular) from the line.
Good Point!
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:20 PM   #10
Member
 
phrogdriver93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 55
I was on the phone with the Direct TV tech reps today aling with their satellite referrals. I was told you need a Standard definition receiver in order to use the simple 18 inch dish. Receiver model numbers should be either a D11, D12 or D13.

I wanted to use my H25-100 receiver from home as well, but I just don't think the eqpt is compatible. I'm going to have to either exchange/return or purchase a compatible Standard def receiver.

You can only get Std def with the 18 in dish.
phrogdriver93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:35 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 167
I actually purchased two standard receivers from Direct TV or our 5er. We use a 18"x20" dish with 3 LNP's. I ran one cable from the dish to the satellite connection at the trialer and installed a 2-way splitter just before the entertainment center so I can run a cable into the front bedroom for the second receiver.
__________________
Ed & Laureen
2005 F-250 4X4 SD 6.0 Powerstroke
2009 Cherokee Wolf Pack 285wp (the side door ramp toy hauler)
nailit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 09:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
GASPEDDLER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 755
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrogdriver93 View Post
I was on the phone with the Direct TV tech reps today aling with their satellite referrals. I was told you need a Standard definition receiver in order to use the simple 18 inch dish. Receiver model numbers should be either a D11, D12 or D13.

I wanted to use my H25-100 receiver from home as well, but I just don't think the eqpt is compatible. I'm going to have to either exchange/return or purchase a compatible Standard def receiver.

You can only get Std def with the 18 in dish.
The H-25 will only work with a SWM dish set up. Only other choice is get a different HD box like an HR20, HR21 or an SD box as you have already mentioned.
__________________

2012 F-350 4x4 King Ranch Super Duty CC 6.7 Turbo Diesel 3.55 e-locker
2011 Palomino Puma 30KFBDS with Side Paw Kitchen and Bunkhouse
Equalizer E2 Hitch
GASPEDDLER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 08:43 AM   #13
Member
 
phrogdriver93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 55
So now for the "setup" questions.....

I have an input labelled "satellite" on the outside of my TT. Am I correct to assume that all the tv's would be able to receive the satellite signal? The drawback being that with one receiver they would all be tuned to the same channel?

I'm sure DW will get used to watching The Military Channel and ESPN ;-)
phrogdriver93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 10:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 167
The TV that is conneted to the jack that has the booter light will be the only one that would receive the satellite signal. You going to have run a seperate cable (through a splitter) with a cable jack to any other TV. If my memerory serves me right, your satelite receiver at that same TV will have to connected the other jack that is labeled "sat" and the booter light should be off.

I installed my splitter before that paricular set of jacks (at the main TV). I guess you could install a splitter between the "sat" jack and the receiver for the other cable.
__________________
Ed & Laureen
2005 F-250 4X4 SD 6.0 Powerstroke
2009 Cherokee Wolf Pack 285wp (the side door ramp toy hauler)
nailit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:52 AM   #15
Member
 
bush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by phrogdriver93 View Post
I was on the phone with the Direct TV tech reps today aling with their satellite referrals. I was told you need a Standard definition receiver in order to use the simple 18 inch dish. Receiver model numbers should be either a D11, D12 or D13.

I wanted to use my H25-100 receiver from home as well, but I just don't think the eqpt is compatible. I'm going to have to either exchange/return or purchase a compatible Standard def receiver.

You can only get Std def with the 18 in dish.

this is what i have found out also.

so whats the best way to go? slimline dish or a standard receiver?
the dish is more $ up front but the receiver will cost more in the long run.

if i go with the slimline dish what all do i need. the swm box that has to be pluged in all the time or just the dish and receiver?
__________________
2011 puma unleashed 298fqu toyhauler.
hauling a 2012 polaris RZRS
pulled by a 2006 chevy 3500 drw 4x4 duramax lbz
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 03:39 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 10,363
I have a new 3 LBN 18" dish multiswitch, I took my receiver out of the bedroom in the house. I tried the 1st LBN and hooked my cable to it and set the elevation, direction and used a cheap compass (@CW) that lets you set the azimuth on the compass over south (it rotates around the dial)I did not change anything and pointed it by the arrow on it , left the slimline as was set up for my home. 1st try with the compass I got all the channels that I get at home now. The only problem was the tripod tube was to small to fit the dish, so I went and bought a pvc coupling 1"1/2 or 1"1/4 and put in on as a spacer and now I can tighten the dish to it. It will come thur my speakers with setting the Gen 3.0 to AV1 mode
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:39 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
camper_Lucy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Camping some place I hope
Posts: 319
Quote:
Originally Posted by bush View Post
this is what i have found out also.

so whats the best way to go? slimline dish or a standard receiver?
the dish is more $ up front but the receiver will cost more in the long run.

if i go with the slimline dish what all do i need. the swm box that has to be pluged in all the time or just the dish and receiver?
To get your H25-100 to work you will need to add a SWM8 and a power inserter to the setup. Whether you chose a 18" (std only) or slimline (HD) either will work, just the setup alignment changes and the slimline takes more time to setup, but not that hard I do all the time at CG's.

Good resources;
http://www.dishpointer.com/
InstallerOasis.com
[Cached:08:21:01-08:41:01]Using my H25-500 Receiver whil | DIRECTV System Installation/Se | DIRECTV Technical Help Forums
__________________
2011 GMC 3500HD 4x4 Crew DRW Duramax
Pullrite 20.5K
2012 Sierra 365SAQ
2006 Police Roadking FLHPi
camper_Lucy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:20 PM   #18
Member
 
bush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 41
i ordered a slimline dish kit off ebay for 80$. comes with a 4 way splitter and the swm switch. it all the same as i have here at the house so it better work. just have to be able to point the dish in the right direction.
__________________
2011 puma unleashed 298fqu toyhauler.
hauling a 2012 polaris RZRS
pulled by a 2006 chevy 3500 drw 4x4 duramax lbz
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2012, 07:53 PM   #19
Member
 
bush's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 41
got the slimline dish setup to day. took me a few min to fugure out how my work Digital Satellite Finder works but i got it working.
__________________
2011 puma unleashed 298fqu toyhauler.
hauling a 2012 polaris RZRS
pulled by a 2006 chevy 3500 drw 4x4 duramax lbz
bush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2012, 02:12 PM   #20
Member
 
maxwell18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Vero Beach, Fl
Posts: 50
sat set up

I just went through this and if you have a non HD receiver in the bedroom you have to cange the setting to multiswitch and have a 18 inch dish. I don't have a HD reciever so don,t know quitte how it would set up. Oh yea one more thaing is if the box is not used at all for about 30 days the Satilite quits sending the signal to the box. It just kind of shuts the box off and you have to call by phone and have direct tv to activate the box again (was no charge). Now I just go out and set my dish up every couple of weeks and let the tv run for a few hours. This way it gets whatever it needs such as updates and such. Belive me this like to have drove me crazy and wound up paying for service call to get a tech ot come out. The elvations and Azz. was all corect along with the 18 inch dish and multiswitch . The tech asked how long it was sitting since last used and told him about 2 to 3 months, BINGO that was it.
maxwell18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.