Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-22-2011, 07:50 AM   #1

"Do A Search"

I'm probably not going to make many friends by posting this but as a newbie here and on other RV sites and asking a few questions only to get the "Do a Search" or "Check the Library" response several times, I'd like to point out that there's not much reason in having a forum if all one needs to do is check the library.

Newbies come here asking for help and the response seems to be "Don't bother us with those questions because we've answered them before and don't want to waste our time answering them again."

A forum is successful because of active members who come back time and time again for help or to contribute. To continually tell people to search for the answer or check the library is a big turn off. Yes, those features are nice but it's also nice to get answers and be able to discuss a problem rather than just read about how it was solved 2 years ago.

I've owned a forum (sold it about a year ago) and that was one of the points I made. We always answered newbie questions OR we provided links to current threads on the subject. And yes, we got the same questions over and over.

This is just an observation...and this isn't the only RV forum guilty of this.

>>>>running for helmet and kevlar vest and taking cover.<<<<<

Enjoying the great outdoors with one hubby and 2 boxers!
2011 Georgetown 280DS
2010 Jeep Wangler 4x4 Toad
KarenS144 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2011, 08:07 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus