RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 05-21-2017, 11:19 PM   #1
Marshmallow Expert

Dump station faux pas?

So, we were on our way home from our maiden voyage in our new TT (which was fantastic!), and needed to dump our tanks. Being that it was my first time doing so, I was nonchalantly watching other folks and it looked easy enough. The guy in front of me with a toy hauler pulled up to the dump station a bit close to the drain, so I figured that he must have a short sewer hose. Nope, NO HOSE: he put on rubber gloves and just opened the valve, letting the crap flow!!! He then grabbed the rinse hose, squirted down the area, took off his gloves and drove away.

Now, I know that I am new at the dump station, but that seems a bit wrong. Does anyone else do this? Is this an acceptable way of dumping black water? It "wreaked" of bad behavior!

Whenever I feel blue, I start breathing again.
MSgt Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2017, 11:24 PM   #2

Not acceptable..
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32) 2018 (42) 2019 (28) 2020 (35)
fonzie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 12:16 AM   #3

Depends on how it's built. I've seen some built so that doing it that way would work. I would still probably use a short hose as I just don't want to smell it or get splattered
Reese Fifth Airborne air ride king pin coupler with Sidewinder
NMWildcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 12:43 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus

Definitely not sanitary, legal, or acceptable behavior. Anyone else see the irony in this guy using gloves to dump all over the ground?
asquared is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 01:10 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by asquared View Post
Definitely not sanitary, legal, or acceptable behavior. Anyone else see the irony in this guy using gloves to dump all over the ground?