Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2019, 07:44 AM   #1

Electrical shock when touching camper

2018 Salem Cruise Lite. I'm plugged in at home to a standard 120v garage outlet with an rv extension cord and a progressive SSP 30x surge protector. I touched the metal bug guard over the water heater and could feel an electrical buzz.

I started playing around with things and noticed I only get the shock when the surge protector is connected. Plugging straight in to the outlet I feel no shock. The surge protector indicates correct wiring, however when it's been wet out in the past has indicated an open neutral at the same outlet.

I'm baffled as I only get the shock when the surge protector is connected. Any ideas?
Jmac1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 08:25 AM   #2

Several things could case this but the first thing I would look for is a screw or staple cutting into hot side of lead. Check around all receipt and 115 volt switches. Also check breaker and panel mounting. Use high resistance ohm meter set at 100 + K to be trace back to breaker. MAKE ALL TEST WITH POWER (ELECT) OFF.
2014 F350 / 2015 CC 36 CKTS
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 08:41 AM   #3
Site Team

I'm currently on a mobile device, but if you can go to the electrical forum in the tech talk subforum, we keep a sticky at the top of it called I get shocked when I touch my RV. It will explains the causes and what to check for.

A 72 hour hold in a psych unit is beginning to intrigue me as a potential vacation opportunity.
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2019, 08:57 AM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by wmtire View Post
I'm currently on a mobile device, but if you can go to the electrical forum in the tech talk subforum, we keep a sticky at the top of it called I get shocked when I touch my RV. It will explains the causes and what to check for.