Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 07-25-2020, 09:09 PM   #1

Fresh water dump etiquette

Hi everyone,

RV newbie here. I'm curious about where/when it's appropriate to dump your fresh water tank. Is it acceptable to just open the dump valve right there in your camp site before you pull up to go dump the black/gray tanks? It's fresh water so technically it's fine to dump anywhere, I was just curious what the accepted protocol is.

Thanks,
Shawn
Old 07-25-2020, 09:12 PM   #2

I open mine just before I leave the dump station and let it drain on the way home.
Old 07-25-2020, 09:15 PM   #3

You pose a good question, Fresh water tank only? Why do you want to dump it after hauling it to the camp site ? Just asking ? But I'm thinking fresh water shouldn't be a problem. Best to ask camp site to be sure.
Old 07-25-2020, 09:15 PM   #4
PhD, Common Sense

I have never felt the need to dump my fresh water tank. However, I’d worry about making a muddy mess at the camp ground. So, I’d try to open all faucets while dumping the gray tank.

In the camp ground sewer system, the water won’t create a muddy mess at the camp site.

Just a thought. I have never done this.
Old 07-25-2020, 09:22 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by sstandfast View Post
Hi everyone,

RV newbie here. I'm curious about where/when it's appropriate to dump your fresh water tank. Is it acceptable to just open the dump valve right there in your camp site before you pull up to go dump the black/gray tanks? It's fresh water so technically it's fine to dump anywhere, I was just curious what the accepted protocol is.

Thanks,
Shawn
I would not dump it at the camp site. How would you like to pull into a muddy mess that some one else left, and not knowing what type of water it was. You might leave at 11AM and someone else pull in as you leave.