Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2011, 05:42 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
fridge operation

I thought the fridge should operate just with having the power cord plugged in (the one that comes out the back of the trailer.I turned the on button on and the check light came on after a while. i called a friend ,he said try turning onthe propane tank , light a burner on the stove to get air out of the line. then try the fridge on auto. It seems to be working fine but is it running on propane now or electricity ??
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 05:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
tmmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Long Island (Nassau County), NY
Posts: 4,325
It sounds like it is running on propane. There should be a switch on the front, top of the fridge that allows you to select the mode (electric or gas) that it will operate in.
__________________
Tom and Margaret
2014 Berkshire 390bh-60

tmmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 06:16 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DF5.4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hilton NY
Posts: 343
The switch may say "Auto" too.
__________________
Doug

2011 Prime Time Tracer 3000BHS
2007 Ford Expedition
Reese Dual Cam HP Hitch
Nights Camped 2015-5 in TT
DF5.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
fridge operation

Yes, the fridge is working in Auto..
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DF5.4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hilton NY
Posts: 343
Did you try turning the propane off and see if the check light comes back on?
__________________
Doug

2011 Prime Time Tracer 3000BHS
2007 Ford Expedition
Reese Dual Cam HP Hitch
Nights Camped 2015-5 in TT
DF5.4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:30 PM   #6
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
The fridge will ALWAYS work on 120VAC if it is plugged in; regardless of the availability of Propane if the "on/off - auto" switch is on.

The check light will ONLY come on if there is no AC AND there is 12VDC available; the fridge is calling for cold; and the propane fails to ignite to ignite. (Propane off; control board failure; control board fuse failure).

If both are available, the AC is Primary. The Propane will light and the fridge will stay cold IF you leave the bottle on and the campground power fails.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:37 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
It took me a while reading the instructions on the freezer door to 'get it' so to speak.
As I remember when you push the left button 'in' and the right button is in the 'out' position the light will say 'Auto' and you are running on electricity.
Then, when you push the right button 'in' the 'auto light goes out and it will try to go to propane. After three or four times trying to 'start' the flame...if it has not igited...then it stops trying and the 'Check' light comes on. You then have to put both buttons in the 'out' position and start over.
It sometimes take two or three times doing this to get it started on propane...not a problem. As your friend said....you are 'purging the gas from the lines when you do the lines by doing the burner thing.
I usually get mine running on propane for a day or so before a trip to get it cold, then run it on propane going down the road. And no I don't worry about turning it off as gas staions when I fuel. Then at the campground I simply put the right switch in the 'out' position so it is running on electricity again.
Jack
__________________
2018 Flagstaff 832IKBS Travel Trailer.

2015 Silverado High Country.
jackhartjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 07:49 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Jacksonville Florida
Posts: 1,264
My suburban fridge may be different, but it has two buttons; one is on/off, and the other is gas; on when out, off when in, and THEN the electric mode works. There is a light that illuminates when on, that says auto., and another light for check. I have had the outside control board fuse blow on the 120v AC side three times; my dealer said it was a bad ground connection on the board. Fixed now. Randy
__________________
/SIGPIC]'08 V-lite Flagstaff 30WRLS
'06 Ram 1500 QC hemi Reese dual cam sway control,
K&N series 77 intake, Hellwig helper spgs. LT tires,
Flowmaster "true duals", 380 h.p., Bilstein shocks
08flagvlite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 09:23 PM   #9
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
Yes, you can "Force Gas" with the gas button. I neglected to mention that. If the "gas" button is "in", it will force gas ignition, regardless of AC power available.

If the gas is turned off at the bottle, you will get a "check" light, since the gas did not light.

Normal operation of the fridge is "Auto" - On "gas" - Off

That way it will default to AC if available and auto switch to gas if needed.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 05:02 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
Fridge operation

Thanks every body !!! For the help , next,( Probably Monday ) i will try and fire -up the furnace & hot water heater, which i already have 2 questions.. #1 How do you know ..when to replace the sacrifical anedode rod ,for the hot water tank ?? #2 Some hot weater tanks are both electric and gas .. How does one tell ,if you have one of these ,or Propane only ??
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:05 AM   #11
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
Some folks replace the anode rod every year regardless of condition as part of "de-winterizing.

Others, when the anode rod has about 50% of the material still on the steel wire. (My camp)

Others wait till its almost all gone.

Ac to the AC water heater. Look outside under the drop down cover and look in the lower left hand corner (if Dometic) for a small black rocker switch. It may or may not have a safety clip through it. If it does, it is AC capable.

Note: The Interior switch with the "ON" light is for water heat on Propane only. For faster water heat recovery you CAN use both.
Never run the water heater without water in it. ALWAYS turn the element off when you do not plan on using AC for water heat.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 07:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
anode and rocker switch

Thanks for the reply and info about the water heater anode and rocker switch.I will get another anode and have it for the 1/2 way replacement point. and look in the morning for that switch.. Thank you
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 08:35 PM   #13
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by dretired View Post
Thanks for the reply and info about the water heater anode and rocker switch.I will get another anode and have it for the 1/2 way replacement point. and look in the morning for that switch.. Thank you
I would not buy it till you were ready to replace it. We have 2 years of heavy use on ours and have about 75% of the anode left.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:07 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
dretired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,045
Question Anode rod

Herk, I am glad you described the condition of you anode rod .. 2 years of heavy use... and still have 75% left... Mine is pitted all over and one spot , 2 inchs away from the thread at 50 % gone, Our trailer was a "Slightly Used " 1 year old at the time we found it. But maybe someone swiched rods at the dealer ???
dretired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:32 AM   #15
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 22,992
Pitted all over and less diameter is normal use.
I am talking about the center wire exposure.

As long as there is material covering the central wire, the sacrificial anode is "Good". I don't wait till its all gone, (wire bare) because the last bits could fall off before you get around to looking at it again.

The wire starts appearing at the cap end and becomes more exposed from that direction.
__________________
Lou, Laura, & Freya the wonder dog
2008 GMC Sierra 3000HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2019 Flagstaff 8529FLS - Pullrite 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 06:57 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 363
dretired, there are a lot of factors that cause the anode rod to 'go away'.
Jack
__________________
2018 Flagstaff 832IKBS Travel Trailer.

2015 Silverado High Country.
jackhartjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 07:47 AM   #17
Moderator Emeritus
 
MtnGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 9,280
Mine still has a lot of life left in it after 2 camping seasons.


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1368.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	51.3 KB
ID:	5447
__________________

Chap , DW Joy, and Fur Baby Sango
2017 F350 Lariat CCSB, SRW, 4x4, 6.7 PS
2017 Grand Design Reflection 337RLS
MtnGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 AM.