Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2015, 11:22 AM   #1

Garmin 760ltm rv

I was just wondering if I bought another piece of junk? I do not own a smartphone, mine are throw aways. I'm leaving for Nashville Wed. and it routed me to a route I do not want to take. Once I get on 85 in NC.The way I want to take 40 all the way. So If I leave it off til I get to 85 then input my CG off 40 in Asheville NC. will it recalculate the route from where I turn it on? I want to stay on 40? I have never used this GPS before just got it for the trip. Thanks for any help or information. I have streets and maps, but it's a PIA to use transfer anything.

Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:29 AM   #2
Georgia Rally Coordinator

Well I never have liked the Magellan it's junk. I do have the Garmin but it's not the RV type but it sure works well.

Yours should recalculate once on 40. Is yours the one set up for RVs? I'm like you no Hi tech phones. Later RJD
2018 Dodge Ram 2500 6.4 3:73 gearing.(sold) (sold) 2015 Chevy 2500 6.0, 4:10
Traded 2015 30WRLIKS V-Lite
Days camped 2019 62
Days camped 2020 49 days camped 2021-74 2022-40 days 2023 5 days
aceinspp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:31 AM   #3

Generally, if you don't go the way the GPS says, it will automatically recalculate. Sometimes you have to drive a distance, but if you are fairly certain where to go the GPS finally gets you going the way you want to go. It's always good to have a paper map to ensure that you at least have a handle of which way to go.

Bob, Diane & Snoopy
2018 3050s Sunseeker
Santabobswife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 12:00 PM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Crew

If you know part of the way you want to go, just do it. Then enter in your destination and it should do the rest. I do that with OnStar, drive till I'm almost lost then call for directions.