Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-06-2016, 11:09 AM   #1

I'm a stupid noob, enjoy a laugh :)

Not a total noob, but a noob to black water. We'd had a popup for 9 years, and upgraded to a TT. I'd read up on dump procedures etc, and was determined to keep the tanks clean and fresh.

On the PDI, they showed my the 2 valves to dump, and said one was grey, and one was black, I wondered why are there 3 stickers (grey,black,grey), but didn't ask. I dumped what I thought was the black tank, then the grey tank, and put my hose on the black water flush. Couple of minutes later water starts coming off the roof. I shut off the water and ran inside, thinking the toilet was over flowing. It wasn't, until I hit the foot valve and started the unmentioned feature of a toilet fountain.

I went crawling under the camper looking for another valve or drain, or anything to get the water out. I finally found black tank valve. It came through the frame, and was hidden by the skirting. They 2 grey valves came under the frame and under the skirting.

I got everything drained, and the DW did a super sanitize clean inside, and all is good.

I was pretty peeved at myself for being so stupid, and not checking things more. After a bit of stewing on my stupidness, I realized that if the worst I did was overflow the toilet, it would be OK.

We had always laughed at the dump station scene in RV, and now I have lived it. Luckily I instituted the no poop in the camper policy so it wasn't as bad as it could be.

Thanks for all the info on this forum, I've learned alot. Hopefully one day I'll have the knowledge to contribute some knowledge. Hopefully y'all can atleast get a good laugh for now.
Wowens79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 11:23 AM   #2
DDC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wowens79 View Post