Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-06-2010, 09:27 PM   #1

It was a stormy night...

So, let me set this up. It's 1:30 am, and the kids (6&3) are stuck to me like glue. The wind is blowing a constant 25 mph, with gusts to 50 mph along with pounding rain and flashes of lightning. Now that I can't sleep because of the kids, I started thinking to myself, "self, I wonder how strong that wind would have to be to flip this trailer on its side". So, here's how my mind wandered in the night.

I'm not an engineer, and I don't know how high or low the center of gravity is in this trailer, so this could be tough to calculate. Does anyone have a rough guesstimate as to what it would take to flip a Rockwood 8313SS with both slides out, and stabilizers down onto it's side? I started thinking about weight distribution, so let's put me (200 lbs) on the opposite side of the trailer that the wind is hitting. Oh, and I'm on the kids bed in the back of the trailer, which is on a slide that's hanging out the side of the trailer opposite of the wind. The wind is hitting straight on into the side of the trailer. There's no trees to break the wind. What if the sliders were in and the stabilizers were up? Can you tell that I rolled the scenario around a bit? And, what answer do you tell the three year old?

Anyone hazard a guess? 100 mph?
algilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 11:28 PM   #2

I would more suggest you get some good sleeping pills And give the kids each a Benadryl
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2010, 04:56 AM   #3