Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2020, 09:13 PM   #1

Medical Insurance

Good Day!

This is kind of unrelated to RV'ing, so if this is inappropriate, my apologies.

I am about to retire - last day is June 5th. My 65th birthday is also in June. My question has to do with medical insurance.

I am a Disabled Vet, rated at 80%. My question is do I need to also sign up for medicare? I have used my employee insurance since employed, but do go to VA for annual physicals, and also "some prescriptions".

For those of you that are not retired vets, but in a similar position as me (not retired military), do you use VA Healthcare (solely)? Do you also use Medicare? If so, what parts? I can and do get hearing aids, eyeglasses thru VA.

How does this work when you're traveling with your rigs, away from home?

I can't get dental thru the VA, can I get that via medicare?

Who provides your medicare? Who has the best deal/rates (if used)?

Thanks for any info you might provide!

Steve
Silverado333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 11:21 PM   #2

whj469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 11:41 PM   #3

Don't have VA benefits.

We signed up for Medicare when we first retired, but found that the deductible was creating a significant dent in our savings.
So we looked around and signed up for a Medicare Advantage program in our area. What is available depends on where you live. Ours offers eye exams free and some help with eyeglasses and hearing aids. Dental was offered at a premium this year, but dentists have not been open.

Sign up for Medicare. You can change your coverage once a year if you need to. At the minimum get Part A (probably free since you've been employed), Part B for the doctor's office and part D for the drugs. B and D usually have a cost which you can have taken out of your social security.