Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2017, 09:35 PM   #1

most unusual issue with a new camper.

i have been camping for 40 years and never heard this happening. We just pickup up our new camper, a 2018 Vibe. Pulled it to our new seasonal site today.. got is leveled and power on. grabbed the water hose and connected it to the city water connection, just below the black tank flush connection. turned on the water and went about other set up issues. After a few minutes i noticed water coming out from under the bathroom door. i raised the lid on the toilet and found the bowel over flowing with water. had the wife run and shut off the water. She said water was running off the roof also as she shut off the water.. i could not figure out what could possibly been the problem.. after a few phone calls to the dealer and some checking i discovered someone at Forest River had switched the labels on the city water connection and the black tank connection. so when i connect to the city water connection i was actually connecting to the black tank flush connection and it filled the black tank with water and pushed by the toilet seal and up the sewer vent stack..Water everywhere. Thank god we had never used the bathroom yet, so all the water was clean. still a mess.. has anyone ever heard of anything like this...?
virstens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 09:45 PM   #2
Kasual Kamper

Quote:
Originally Posted by virstens View Post
has anyone ever heard of anything like this...?
Yes, but it was human error, not a mislabeling.
http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...nk-142718.html
JayArras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2017, 09:46 PM   #3
2007 WildCat 32QBBS

Not so much of hearing of it happening but a lot of speculation of what would happen if the dump valve was kept closed during a flush. Now we all know, water will come out on the roof vent.