Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-27-2020, 04:25 PM   #1

My first water leak... Sad Panda

Greetings!

I am new to the RV world, and frankly it is quite scary and so far a little bit stressful. I have a 2018 Coachmen Apex Nano. 193 BHS. My wife just discovered water in the most forward interior LED light. I removed the fixture and sure enough there is moister in the ceiling. There is no water anywhere else in the trailer. I checked the forward cabinets and walls. I took some photos of the corner of the out side roof and I think I see where the water is coming from. There is a very pliable rubber sealant that seals the roof membrane to the sides and the front fiberglass molded piece. There appears to be some "cracks" in the sealant. Although it appears quite porous. I was hoping some folks would take a gander and make some suggestions on how to repair these "cracks" and also if they felt these blemishes could be the source of the leak. Also I have purchased some sealer that should be here in about 10 days. It is a self leveling wet/dry application sealer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2495.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	417.3 KB
ID:	227776  
BartMarilyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2020, 04:58 PM   #2
Site Team

Welcome to FRF, from Camano Island.
The caulking on your trailer should be regularly checked and maintained. Manufacturers recommend every 90 days.
I check mine every 6 months.
Doesn't look like you've been doing that.
Did you buy the trailer new or used?
I've had a similar crack that allowed water in an overhead cabinet.
What sealant did you order? Should be Dicor.
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2020, 05:03 PM   #3