Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-12-2019, 12:33 AM   #1

Question Need help choosing a Good Wireless Backup Camera System

I am totally new to the backup camera systems and totally confused as to what I should get. I need a system that will be easy to install without having to worry about running wires from the back of my trailer to my Tow Vehicle.
I have a 2000 GMC Yukon and a 2019 Forest River Cascade Trailer. My Budget is quite tight, but I am willing to pay a little bit more to buy a Quality Unit. I don't really need extra cameras for switching lanes, but the option sure would be nice!
I am not extremely handy with tools or directions anymore due to 2 strokes and a bad back, so I need a system that will be easy to install. If this sin't an option I am willing to wait a while longer to save up for a Professional to install the system for me.

I sure would appreciate any and all the help that you wonderful people of this site could give me!
Thanks in advance!

Dick
grandpawrichard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 03:41 AM   #2

Dick,

I wish I knew what to tell you. I'm in the market for a backup camera myself for a camper I bought new this past fall. Furrion has mounting brackets mounted on about everything coming off the assembly line these days and reviews I've read are either raving about how great they are or complaining about how the signal drops or is lagging/hesitating/freezing. So far I have been unwilling to flip a coin and hope for the best, mainly because of the poor/lack of customer service reports I have also about Furrion. Mainly that if something is wrong and it's past the 1 year warranty period, they offer to sell you a new unit and have no ability to repair what most would consider a sizable investment.

This, Directly from their website: