Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-27-2020, 12:24 AM   #1

Need help with leveling with Tongue Jack

I am going to try to explain this as best I can. I am a newbie (obviously). So far, everywhere we have gone has been level. Tonight we got to a site that wasn't level. I used leveling blocks on one side of the RV, got it level pretty quick.

Here's where my problem started. I was lifting up the automatic tongue jack so that I could get the hitch off the ball of my truck. (note: I had two stacked leveling blocks under the foot pad to help because I had to lift it pretty high to get it off the ball). As I was raising the tongue jack, it unlatched from the ball and my travel trailer bounced and away from us about 5 feet before stopping. UGHHHH.

We tried two more times, this time making sure we had chocks (plastic) behind the wheels.

Third time, I drove it around and re-parked. We did the exact same thing, this time without the camco blocks under the foot pad and bingo, the RV didn't roll away from us.

Basically, each time the hitch and ball separated, the trailer jumped away from us about 3-5 feet.

These pictures show how we finally got it to work. This is the first time I haven't used leveling blocks under the front foot pad, but the only way to get it not to roll back on us.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tongue jack.jpg
Views:	266
Size:	334.5 KB
ID:	229994   Click image for larger version

Name:	Photo 2.jpg
Views:	294
Size:	262.8 KB
ID:	229995  
DadJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2020, 12:35 AM   #2

I know the chock closest in the picture looks like a waste, but it helped on the 2nd and 3rd time the travel trailer moved away from us. The opposite side has one yellow and one black (hard to see) chock on the tire.
Old 05-27-2020, 05:40 AM   #3