Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-05-2018, 01:09 PM   #1

Newbie question about refrigerator

Hi folks. Total newbie here :-). I thought I would start running my refrigerator on gas the day before I leave on a trip and leave it running while travelling so it stays cold.

However, I have read to shut off the gas tanks when travelling.

So I am confused about the appropriate way to deal with getting the refrigerator cold for the trip. Do I have to wait until I get to my destination to start up the refrigerator and wait for it to get cold?

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Getting ready to take our very first trip with the RV in a week and trying to make sure I have good procedures documented for us to follow. I don't want to do things from memory.

Thanks all ........... Rob
robbecky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 01:18 PM   #2

I run the fridge on propane while traveling. From what I read on the forums I believe the majority of people do the same except for a small minority.

2007 Surveyor SV230
- 200 Watts Solar/MPPT Controller - 220 AH Battery Bank (Two-GC2) - 600 watt PSW Inverter - (2) 2000 watt Inverter Generators - LED Lighting
2009 F150 - 5.4 Litre with Tow Package

Boon Docking 99% of the time.
boondocking is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2018, 01:48 PM   #3

I recommend a battery-powered wireless outside thermometer (about $10) to monitor fridge temps. Put the "outside" measuring head inside the fridge, and the readout in the tow vehicle or camper.