Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-05-2018, 10:19 AM   #1

Oh the irony

So many times I sit here and read the posts about full timing, and/or staying places for a month at a time, and I long for the days of being able to experience it. My big reason for not doing it is missing out on all of the overtime that I work, can't travel if you ain't making money. I have banked up nearly 3 months worth of vacation time so I am good on that, just haven't padded the checking account enough.
So, for the ironic part, there I was at work the other day (I work as a paramedic) on the back half of a 48 hr shift. The night before was a little rough, we only had about 4 hours of sleep. I was talked into having breakfast with the rest of the crew and was sitting in an area I normally wouldn't have been in. I usually sit in the bay at my computer, alone. I suddenly started getting dizzy and the room spinning, the next thing I know I am in the ER after having an apparent seizure. Long story short, the guys said I had a grand mal seizure and the doc believes it was brought on by sleep deprivation. That's the first I have ever heard of that, but researching it, it is the #2 cause of them. I followed up with a neurologist, he confirmed the diagnosis and put me off driving for 3 months. He normally does 6 months but conceded 3 months considering the circumstances.
So here I am off for 3 months, because I have to be able to drive to work and can't go anywhere because I can't drive. I'm glad it's all working out, just shaking my head because I am burning up all of my vacation time and just sitting at home.
Old 01-05-2018, 10:42 AM   #2

Life is short....I am retiring in a week from now at age 59.
babock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 10:45 AM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by emtp82 View Post