Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-20-2019, 07:08 PM   #1

Power for Fan inside Fridge

A total novice here, but I can follow directions. If I choose to power my fan using the power going to the refrigerator light, as this guy does ( ), how do I know which wire to go into? Do use a multimeter to find out where the 12 V constant is?

I have a black line and a red line going to my light. Pictured here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1FcP...ew?usp=sharing .

Thanks,
Joe
joetab1977 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 07:26 PM   #2

Here's how I wired mine:

The fan I got came with a little terminal to tap off the existing connection. You can see that at the top of the switch. On my fridge that's the hot wire going to the switch, that way the fan will run with the door closed. Verifying that with a multimeter or test light is a good idea.
My fan needs a ground, that's the other wire on the terminal to the left. I think your fan grounds to the fins so you'll only have the one wire to worry about. You don't need the tapper, just strip about 1/2 inch of wire and fold it over the male terminal, then push the female terminal on to hold the wire in place. The switch pops out of the bracket which makes this much easier.
On a side note, those stock bulbs get very hot, that's why I went with an LED replacement. Make sure the wires don't touch the glass just in case.
Hope this helps!
DavidBo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2019, 07:38 PM   #3

Thanks David! This is very helpful.

What fan did you install?

Thanks,
Joe
Old 06-20-2019, 07:50 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by joetab1977 View Post
What fan did you install?

This bad boy!

I got it from Ebay, I think it's the same folks that made your fan. The switches control the fans individually, there's also some pretty cool LED lights that I usually leave off.