Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-06-2020, 06:21 PM   #1

RV plugged in Year Round?

Forest River-2801QS

I'm new to the RV world and have a question about leaving my RV plugged in year round, verses winterizing. We plan on taking our RV out in the winter this year to Miami and I'd like to avoid winterizing if at all possible. We live in the Northern Shenandoah Valley of Virginia and it does have the potential to get cold for sure.

Are there any similar campers in my situation who leave their rig plugged in all year, and if so, do you have any advice for a newbie? I've done some google searches for advice and have a basic understanding of the pros and cons, but wanted feedback if at all possible.

We purchased our 2018 RV with basically no manuals from an estate settlement where the owner had some health issues, and we were lucky to get what we got with the purchase. I'm not sure about the heating system, but it shows a heat pump and I know that during really cold weather this will not suffice in keeping the unit warm. Do I need to keep an additional heater in the unit? I wouldn't want to go propane. Will keeping the unit warm topside prevent freeze ups underneath, should I wrap the pipes....Stuff like that.

Thank you in advance,

Neun
Neun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2020, 06:47 PM   #2
Site Team

Looks like the temps only get a little below freezing a few days, so by draining the water lines and running the furnace when it's going to be freezing you should be fine. Leave the cabinet doors open so that the heat will distribute to all the closed areas.

Keep a good watch on the propane to make sure it doesn't run out unexpectedly.
Old 10-06-2020, 07:30 PM   #3