Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2021, 07:32 PM   #1

So I won a camper!

Well I’ve been wanting a camper for a while especially since I’ve been hunting elk out of state the past couple years. I Went to a banquet and won the grand prize (First thing I have ever won in my life) a free 21 Forest River wildwood FSX platinum. It’s a perfect size for my small family and definitely plenty of camper for my elk hunts. My only problem/good problem is I have no camper experience or knowledge. My son wants to use it immediately so I want to plan a quick trip before he starts school back. Any quick tips or advice on things to buy or things to avoid buying/doing. I will be diving through the forums after posting this but definitely wanted to get some quick input for an RVing noob. I enjoy primitive camping but the older I’m getting having this will be a godsend lol
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	D3EAF18C-81EE-4A4E-AFB3-0B98A8F9980C.jpg
Views:	253
Size:	550.4 KB
ID:	259883  
Hitordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 07:41 PM   #2
Trailer Park Supervisor

Congrats, you have the sort of luck I never do! I would read all you can on this forum. It's all been asked and answered a 1000 times here! And your first use should be right in your driveway to train yourself and test it.
NJKris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 07:41 PM   #3

I guess the first question would be, do you have an appropriate tow vehicle? I’m guessing that if you are an avid hunter you probably have a truck…
phipps33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 07:44 PM   #4

Congrats!!! You will find all the advise you need on the forums, as said first trip try it out in your yard or driveway. Enjoy!
mshenygo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2021, 08:07 PM   #5

GREAT I wish I had a son to take camping at that age...