Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-26-2020, 10:49 AM   #8281
Broken Toe

Quote:
Originally Posted by shortkid View Post
Hey Cowracer, I had an experience while driving our pumper in a parade , I opened the door to get out and my head was so big it wouldn’t fit out. Lol !!!!
I can relate. Look... if you can ever get the chance to drive a firetruck, I highly recommend it.

We were a rural department with a rather large, spread-out, district. 100% volunteer. We bought a new pumper back in oh... probably '90 or '91, our first ever new truck that wasn't converted from a U-haul or something else. It came with an actual stereo system, and a pretty healthy one at that (It was on a Freightliner chassis).

As I was an engineer, and lived pretty close to the firehouse, I got to drive it a lot. I always had good tunes queued up in the cassette deck. I will say this, responding to a fully-involved mobile home fire, at 3am on a real foggy night which made the emergency lights cast weird beams everywhere, with ZZ Top's "La Grange" blaring on the stereo is a surreal experience I'll never forget.

The chief was cool about it, but he wound up having the stereo taken out because you could hear it in the background when I made my radio calls. LOL.

I always wanted to tiller a ladder truck just once, but I've never gotten the chance. That is a bucket-list item for me.

Tim

"Camper" 2016
Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329ss
"Casper" 2017 Ram 2500 Laramie Diesel
..ProPride 3P Hitch - "Yeah. It's worth it."
Cowracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2020, 12:14 PM   #8282

Spent almost 45 minutes yesterday watching an older couple back a 35-ish foot diesel pusher motor home into a campsite.

I'm not sure what the trouble was, though it appeared that communication was a factor. Incompetence might have played a role as well.