Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-04-2015, 06:03 AM   #1

Hyperlite 29HFS

I am just ordering our 29HFS, and it is rather loaded with Extreme Weather package, generator, etc. I read in other threads that they went to 4400# axles from 5200# recently. If you do the math that is not a lot of margin. I asked my sales rep about upgrading to 5200# axles and was told "Don't worry about it, you don't need it."

I'm an engineer...that is not a good answer!

Does anyone know if the factory will do upgrades such as that? That is an option I would gladly pay for upfront.

Thanks!
DennisTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 09:58 AM   #2

I'm not an engineer (couldnt spell it now i are one!), the lighter axles reduce GVWR by appx 1300# down to 2700# of stuff. Is the garage still rated at 2000#, I can't see how. Plus yours has the generator and the extreme package that mine didn't. I wouldn't have a 29HFS without the 5200# axles... axles hit the frame on mine with one 750# bike and not heavy load... no water, etc. before the safety recall and the heavier axles were installed. It didn't cost me anything BTW. My gut tells me if the dealer checks; yours will come with the 5200# units... Get everything in writing... Whatever they tell you or promise you.

2017 F-250 4x4 6.2L Gas
I can't fix everything, but I can make it so nobody else can
WolfWhistle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 10:31 AM   #3

Thanks for the response and great info!
DennisTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 12:44 PM   #4
Sunseeker 2500TS